Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: agp speed problem




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Well i joined to see if any1 here can help me with my problem. i just downloaded the new 1.10 catalysts for my ati radeon 9700 pro and for some reason it doesnt recongize any apg speed. I tried setting it to 1x 2x and 4x agp speed it every time i restart my comp for the settings to take effect it just sets it back to the off position in smartguard.

    I also went into my bios and changed it so instead of saying boot graphic card from pci it boots from agp/onboard graphics card.

    This problem only seems to happen with the pre 3.10 hotfix and the official 3.10 catalyst drivers. And i need to use one of these drivers so call of duty will not lock up. Any suggestions on how to get it to detect the agp speed without buying anything new? I also tried reformatting comp and it had no effect, im currently using windows xp home ed.

  2. Default

    Is it running at a slower speed then what your Motherboards max is. If its still running in 8x then it shouldnt matter. If its running 4x and thats all your mobo can handle then ya still dont have a problem. Other than that im not familar enough with catalyst, so you'll have to wait for the ATI wiser to respond.
    The FatGuy's Rig:

    <small>AMD 1600+ XP O/C'd to 1560 mhz // Thermaltake Volcano 7+ // Aopen AK77 Pro K266(A) Chipset O/C'd to 147 mhz // 256MB Elixir PC2100 DDR CAS2 // Visiontek GeForce4 Ti4200 O/C'd to 310/580 w/ Thermaltake HSU // SoundBlaster Audigy X-Gamer // WD205BA 20GB 7200 // Sony 52x/24x/52x // Linksys 10/100 NIC // ThermalTake 480w Butterfly PSU // Silver Windowed Aluminum Mid-Tower Case (Modded) // Vantec Nexus Fan Controller// Thermaltake 80mm Blower // 3xEvercool 80mm Fans // 2xBlue Cold Cathodes // 2xSound activated Blue Cold Cathodes // Dell 17" Monitor // Microsoft Trackball // Creative 5.1 Speakers</small>

    Come Crunch with TweakTown

    <img src="http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/folding/?&username=FatGuy3&border=0,0,0&custom =0,0,255&label=0,0,0&header=255,0,0&st ats=0,0,255&trans=yes&template=fah_origina l&.jpg" alt="www.Statgfx.com" />

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    49

    Default

    the problem is i cant even get it to 1x agp speed, it always stays at off no matter what i do to it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,393

    Default

    Uninstall the drivers, restart, install new drivers, restart, and see if that works.
    CPU: Opteron 165 @ 311x9 - 2817.8 mhz - 1.47v
    Mobo: Abit KN8-SLI
    RAM: 2x512 Crucial Ballistic Tracers500 @ 202 mhz 2-2-2-5 T1
    GFX: Asus EAX1950pro @ 648/1408
    PSU: Thermaltake 500w
    SC: Audigy 2 zs
    LCD: 22' Samsung 225bw
    Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
    Mouse: Logitech G5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    49

    Default

    uhhh alrdy done that, if u read my post it said that i even reformatted my whole harddrive.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,246

    Default

    steve-0o0, what mobo do you have? Make sure your apg is set correctly in the BIOS (make sure it is set to use 8x)
    I've gone too far and need to move on!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Im not sure if its right but SiSoftware Sandra says the model name of my motherboard is

    Micro-Star International Co Ltd (MSI) 82845G/GL/GV Brookdale Host-Hub Interface Bridge (A1-step)

    and the answer to your other question is there is nowhere in my bios to set the agp speed so it would be impossible.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,393

    Default

    oh.Sorry about that. :cheers:
    CPU: Opteron 165 @ 311x9 - 2817.8 mhz - 1.47v
    Mobo: Abit KN8-SLI
    RAM: 2x512 Crucial Ballistic Tracers500 @ 202 mhz 2-2-2-5 T1
    GFX: Asus EAX1950pro @ 648/1408
    PSU: Thermaltake 500w
    SC: Audigy 2 zs
    LCD: 22' Samsung 225bw
    Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
    Mouse: Logitech G5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    49

    Default

    so what exactly should i do? should i keep using a old driver until ati every releases a new driver?

  10. Default

    So your AGP card is not working at all?
    The FatGuy's Rig:

    <small>AMD 1600+ XP O/C'd to 1560 mhz // Thermaltake Volcano 7+ // Aopen AK77 Pro K266(A) Chipset O/C'd to 147 mhz // 256MB Elixir PC2100 DDR CAS2 // Visiontek GeForce4 Ti4200 O/C'd to 310/580 w/ Thermaltake HSU // SoundBlaster Audigy X-Gamer // WD205BA 20GB 7200 // Sony 52x/24x/52x // Linksys 10/100 NIC // ThermalTake 480w Butterfly PSU // Silver Windowed Aluminum Mid-Tower Case (Modded) // Vantec Nexus Fan Controller// Thermaltake 80mm Blower // 3xEvercool 80mm Fans // 2xBlue Cold Cathodes // 2xSound activated Blue Cold Cathodes // Dell 17" Monitor // Microsoft Trackball // Creative 5.1 Speakers</small>

    Come Crunch with TweakTown

    <img src="http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/folding/?&username=FatGuy3&border=0,0,0&custom =0,0,255&label=0,0,0&header=255,0,0&st ats=0,0,255&trans=yes&template=fah_origina l&.jpg" alt="www.Statgfx.com" />

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •