Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: radeon 7500 - 9600 se problems




  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    4,543

    Default

    We'll see how that goes, but I am really confused right now. I'll have to look around next time I use an HP system. Unless you mean System Restore (in which case you haven't done much of anything). Maybe someone else with more experience with these Compaqs (and other HPs) can give me a clue as to what is going on here. But just update drivers for now. check the other post for the video drivers.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yawgm0th
    We'll see how that goes, but I am really confused right now. I'll have to look around next time I use an HP system. Unless you mean System Restore (in which case you haven't done much of anything). Maybe someone else with more experience with these Compaqs (and other HPs) can give me a clue as to what is going on here. But just update drivers for now. check the other post for the video drivers.
    roger that
    Still learning about Computers, I ask because I don't know.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    For starters that PC of your's uses a mobo based on the VIA KM266 chipset which is known to have compatibility probs with a lot of video cards and also doin' a system recovery is likely loadin' the onboard video drivers as well which will interfere with the ATi drivers.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    45

    Default

    right on Wiggo, yeah I just called ATI and asked them why it seemed trashier than the 7500 they suggested returning it for the 9600 XT which im gonna do tonight :D
    Still learning about Computers, I ask because I don't know.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    45

    Default

    btw Wiggo what video card do you suggest with what i have for about us currency 200 $ can I get that will work with this system and what type of 512 ram, I think I asked you this can't find it.
    this is what im currently using for ram:
    dimm#1 smart modular ddr-sdram pc2100 - 256 mb
    dimm#2 ddr-sdram pc2700 - 256 mb
    Still learning about Computers, I ask because I don't know.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    45

    Default

    If this helps at all all on my comp installed for games is Battlefield 1942 which is the only game I'm trying to set up for and run like a champ or as close to one with my budget
    Still learning about Computers, I ask because I don't know.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    Ya not goin' to like this but Compaq's are only meant to be office PC's and if ya really want to play games then buildin' a new PC would be the way to go IMO.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    848

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zephir
    seems that the 9600 se is laggier and I still have the graphics to its minimal in the Battlefield 1942
    Thats because you have downgraded your gfx. And to top it off, you went from a 128 bit card to a 64bit one.
    athlon xp-m@2456mhz(12x204)
    tt aquariusII liquid cooled/ arctic silver ceramique
    asus a7n8xe-dlx
    thermaltake xaserIII lanfire
    bfg 6800gt
    seagate sataII 250gb/seagate 7200rpm 160gb ide
    samsung dvdrw
    2x1024 kingston hyper-x pc3200/ windows xp pro sp3
    logitech mx518/ logitech wingman rumble
    2x samsung 955df 19"/ canon i960
    creative x-fi fatal1ty 64mb/ altec lansing 251-5.1
    mushkin 550w

    opteron 146 @ 2850 (10x285)
    DFI infinity nf4 ultra
    thermaltake tsunami dream -black
    seagate sataII 500gb
    evga 8600gt oc ssc edition
    samsung sata dvd-rw
    2x1024 ocz black
    logitech ifeel/ nec accusync 75f
    ocz fatal1ty 550w

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •