Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Kudos to anyone who can fix this.




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    299

    Default

    I've had this problem for a while, maybe even since I've built the system. I haven't sat down yet and played with different drivers or anything to see if that fixes it but I'd thought I'd share this with everyone.

    In any game using D3D running at 1280x1024 or higher I get some strange artifacts in the video. So far I've seen this in GAT3, UT, UT2003 Demo, and F1 2002. Didn't check to see if this happens in OpenGL yet. The same artifacts appear if I turn on AA at 1024X768. I'm not sure if it's drivers, directx, or something with my video card. Any ideas are welcome, I will try them out tonight when I get home from work. Thanks!

    The forums seem to be acting up. It won't allow me to upload the JPEG image so you can see what's wrong ... If I can get it to work later I'll put it up. Anyways there are rows of dots that start from the bottom and go straight up to about quarterway up the screen. There are several vertical rows, and they are in a pattern, not random.
    Specs:

    AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    EPoX 8K3A+
    Corsair XMS2700 512MB DDR333
    Leadtek Winfast A250 Ultra TD 128MB GeForce 4 Ti4600
    SB Audigy Gamer
    Intel 10/100 Pro NIC
    Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM ATA100 Special Edition w/ 8MB Cache
    Pioneer 16X DVD-106s
    Plextor 40x12x40 CD-RW
    Teac 1.44 Floppy
    Enermax 550W PSU
    Altec Lansing 641 4.1 Speaker System
    Antex SX1240 Full-Tower
    Win98SE / WinXP Pro

    3DMark 2001SE - 11,659 (Stock) 12,670 (O/C'd)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    299

    Default

    I try to upload the picture and yes it is a VALID jpeg format and it gives me this error: The uploaded file is not a valid GIF or JPG file. Please ensure that it is and try again. --DUH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    299

    Default

    OK I will just put a link the the screenshot. It's taken from F1 2002: Click here

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    Yes we're looking into another server to share the load better and fix some of the probs that we've been having the last couple of weeks. ;)

    What drivers are you using and did this happen with other driver versions? :?:
    <center>:cheers:</center>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    494

    Default

    this occurs in all views?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,296

    Default

    It looks like you have a duel-boot system. Have you tried games in both OSs? I'd say if it happens in both OSs, it might be hardware related; if only in one, software/drivers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    299

    Default

    So far I've tried the leaked 30.30's and the official 29.42's in WinXP. I'm going to try the newest official 30.82's. So far this is all in WinXP I haven't checked in Win98 but I think I remember seeing it in that OS too. OK actually when playing around with it tonight UT doesn't do it anymore when I crank up the res. I can get it to do it in UT2003 Demo when using a res of 1280X1024 or higher and the same in F1 2002.

    Well I'm gonna go over to my computer and try Win98 right now..... ok well Win98 does the same thing AHHHHHHHHHHH I saw it in the UT 2003 demo and in F1 2002 and it looks exactly the same. I played UT and saw it in the menu screen but not during the game. I also tried GTA3 and saw the same pattern. It only seems to do it at the res of 1280 or higher or with AA on at any decent resolution. I guess it is hardware. I will have to contact the Vid Card Manu and see what they say.

    :shoot3:
    Specs:

    AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    EPoX 8K3A+
    Corsair XMS2700 512MB DDR333
    Leadtek Winfast A250 Ultra TD 128MB GeForce 4 Ti4600
    SB Audigy Gamer
    Intel 10/100 Pro NIC
    Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM ATA100 Special Edition w/ 8MB Cache
    Pioneer 16X DVD-106s
    Plextor 40x12x40 CD-RW
    Teac 1.44 Floppy
    Enermax 550W PSU
    Altec Lansing 641 4.1 Speaker System
    Antex SX1240 Full-Tower
    Win98SE / WinXP Pro

    3DMark 2001SE - 11,659 (Stock) 12,670 (O/C'd)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    0

    Default

    Have you tried an artifact tester to see if you are getting artifacts outside the games as well as inside them?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Well I sent the card back the manu. Right now I'm using a TNT2. I ran the game at the same res that the other card showed artifacts and I'm not seeing any, so I'm pretty sure it was the card itself.

    Where can I get the artifact tester, I'll try that when I get a chance.

    :cheers:
    Specs:

    AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    EPoX 8K3A+
    Corsair XMS2700 512MB DDR333
    Leadtek Winfast A250 Ultra TD 128MB GeForce 4 Ti4600
    SB Audigy Gamer
    Intel 10/100 Pro NIC
    Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM ATA100 Special Edition w/ 8MB Cache
    Pioneer 16X DVD-106s
    Plextor 40x12x40 CD-RW
    Teac 1.44 Floppy
    Enermax 550W PSU
    Altec Lansing 641 4.1 Speaker System
    Antex SX1240 Full-Tower
    Win98SE / WinXP Pro

    3DMark 2001SE - 11,659 (Stock) 12,670 (O/C'd)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •