Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: drivers causeing win crash




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    442

    Default

    The other day I was playing UT 2K3 and my comp locked up. upon restart it has white blocks all over the Bios and XP splash screens. The only way i was able to get into window was in the safe mode. and it would just lock up till i uninstalled the Video drivers. when i tried to reinstall the drivers for the card the comp locked up again, so i reuninstalled them and now i am stuck with the windows default drivers and am un able to change any of the display setting as any changes lock the comp and force a reboot/unistall....any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    Have ya tried system restore to take ya back before the prob? :?:


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    442

    Default

    tried that 1st ...same problem...could it be something wrong with the card itself and not really software related?:hammer:

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    It maybe but it's very hard to say as I've never experienced that. Have you been overclockin' the card? :?:
    <center>:cheers:</center>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    442

    Default

    who me?:rolleyes: yes it has been over clocked in the past but at the time of the crash it was running at default speeds.:cry:

    Could cool bits have anything to do with it? and if so what is the Reg entry that i would need to remove?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    I asked that because what ya seein' can be caused by memory that's been overclocked a bit far or is havin' a heat issue. ;)
    <center>:cheers:</center>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Are you referring to the Vid Card Ram? I thought it mightbe the sys ram and pulled the ram and replaced it with some pc2100 and was still having the same problem:cry:

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    No I meant the video memory but I'm out of thoughts atm if ya've reseated the vid card. :?:
    <center>:cheers:</center>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    442

    Default

    unfortunately yes i have reseated it:( I am trying to get ahold of someone in Tech support at Asus...hopefully they can help me out and it is still under warrantee so i can send it back and see what is up

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    Have ya tried another video card in it? :?:

    That would be my next step. ;)


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •