Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: cd burner problems




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Holiday Fl
    Posts
    129

    Default

    I have an older cd burner (philips) and I'm having problems with it. The tray won't open and it does not respond to the tray open button. my question is can this be due to driver problems? the kids put a cd in it and I can't get it opened. I finally opened the case and unhooked it, because every time it boots it tries to read it and it was causing problems. If anyone has any imput on this please get back to me. Thanks
    Asus P5N32-E SLI mobo
    E6600
    Zalman 9700 led Heatsink
    Thermaltake Extreme Spirit NB heatsink
    Corsair XMS2 PC2 8500 (2gigs)/with fans
    Ocz Gamestream 700 watt psu
    Geforce 7900gs oc Video card
    Half a tarabyte hard drive space
    Thermaltake Saprano case

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1,636

    Default

    with CDRW being so cheap, i say upgrade

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    caves of bedrock
    Posts
    3,129

    Default

    most probably the CD-burner is set as slave. my CD-ROM drive has this problem too. if you keep a CD in it at boot-time it won't be recognised by windows (thats what happens with me). i know my CD-ROM drive is old but don't want to upgrade it right now
    make a point of not leaving a CD in it at the time of shutdown. to get the CD out, restart the PC and press the open button at the time of POST (power on self test) or at the time when it is shutting down. its a very small time that you will get to have the CD out.
    another way to do it is press F9 at boot-up. it will show you the bootloader menu (the devices). get the CD out and close the tray and you should be done.

    though i think its high time i follow kane2g's advice.
    Latest Microsoft Security Updates.
    Last Updated:
    10th MARCH


    If you are a security freak: Use Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer (NT/2000/XP/2003)
    ======================
    icq : 203189004
    jabber : asklepios20@jabber.org
    =======================
    Linux user since: April 24, 2003 312478
    yabaa dabaa doo...
    Customized for 1024x768

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Western face of Mt.St.Helens
    Posts
    3,060

    Default

    There is always the needle in the hole above the volume control
    trick............no power needed.......and it works every time
    Happiness isn't something you experience; it's something you recall.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    848

    Default

    I had a customer with that problem. He put a 700mb cdrw in his older Yamaha burner and it totally crashed the system everytime. So i tried the burner in other machines, same problem. I used the pin trick to get it out. And the disc reads and writes fine in any other drive, so i saved the data onto a cdr for him and confiscated the cdrw(for his own good).
    Rebooting after the crash would work sometimes, but the drive was missing every time (no letter anymore). No computer i tried could recognize the drive with that disc in it.
    Best i can figure is the drive was made well before 700mb cdrw was. like 1998 when they cost $400cdn
    Nothing wrong with the drive , it works fine. And i still use the disc.

    What a neat little 2cm fan in the back of the drive, the only one i have ever seen with a fan.
    athlon xp-m@2456mhz(12x204)
    tt aquariusII liquid cooled/ arctic silver ceramique
    asus a7n8xe-dlx
    thermaltake xaserIII lanfire
    bfg 6800gt
    seagate sataII 250gb/seagate 7200rpm 160gb ide
    samsung dvdrw
    2x1024 kingston hyper-x pc3200/ windows xp pro sp3
    logitech mx518/ logitech wingman rumble
    2x samsung 955df 19"/ canon i960
    creative x-fi fatal1ty 64mb/ altec lansing 251-5.1
    mushkin 550w

    opteron 146 @ 2850 (10x285)
    DFI infinity nf4 ultra
    thermaltake tsunami dream -black
    seagate sataII 500gb
    evga 8600gt oc ssc edition
    samsung sata dvd-rw
    2x1024 ocz black
    logitech ifeel/ nec accusync 75f
    ocz fatal1ty 550w

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    106

    Default

    well, i got me a BTE 52x24x52x like a month ago and when i first installed it, it worked fine, i burned a few cds and it still worked fine. but now its sometimes recognized by device manager but it doesn't appear on my computer nor i can use it with any burning software. i think i changed the jumper settings(don't know why) but i think its that .....i still got those small pins for both drives(a cd-rom and the burner) so where do i put'em?, i want the cd-rom to be master and burner to be slave and both got 6 pins( 3 by 2 or 2 by 3 or ::: )
    My rig:
    amd athlon xp 2500+ barton core @2.16GHZ (180mhz 12x)
    cooler master x-dream(with cooler master high performance thermal compound)
    mobo: asus a7n8x deluxe
    512mb of ddr pc-3200
    radeon 9500 pro
    pctv tuner card
    antec 5.1 speakers
    antec case with 5 80mm fans
    430 watts psu
    15" monitor @ 1024*768 32bit 70hz
    48x cd-rom, 52x24x52x cdrw
    2x 160gbs 7200 rpm 8mb buffer maxtor hdd
    win xp pro with sp1a
    all drivers updated

    "They say that when you run a Microsoft CD backwards you can hear demonic voices... But that's nothing - When you run it forwards it installs Windows"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    848

    Default

    There should be a key map on the drives, it will look something like this :::.
    The single pin is for orientation.
    It should be on a sticker or cast in the plastic or stamped in the metal.
    athlon xp-m@2456mhz(12x204)
    tt aquariusII liquid cooled/ arctic silver ceramique
    asus a7n8xe-dlx
    thermaltake xaserIII lanfire
    bfg 6800gt
    seagate sataII 250gb/seagate 7200rpm 160gb ide
    samsung dvdrw
    2x1024 kingston hyper-x pc3200/ windows xp pro sp3
    logitech mx518/ logitech wingman rumble
    2x samsung 955df 19"/ canon i960
    creative x-fi fatal1ty 64mb/ altec lansing 251-5.1
    mushkin 550w

    opteron 146 @ 2850 (10x285)
    DFI infinity nf4 ultra
    thermaltake tsunami dream -black
    seagate sataII 500gb
    evga 8600gt oc ssc edition
    samsung sata dvd-rw
    2x1024 ocz black
    logitech ifeel/ nec accusync 75f
    ocz fatal1ty 550w

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,723

    Default

    yes, as maximus 7001 stated it is normally on the drive itself
    sometimes it is only designated as;
    M for master
    S for slave
    CS for cable select

    Be advised, some CD-R/CD-RW drives do not contend well being a slave on the IDE channel and may not operate/be recognized with 100% accuracy and efficiency.

    If the slave setting just doesn't cut it, switch it back to master on the IDE channel.
    The reason a diamond shines so brightly is because it has many facets which reflect light.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    106

    Default

    thx for the help, i fixed the prob i was havin with my burner. the burner didn't like 2 be a slave so i just put it as master, i also had a wrong pin.
    My rig:
    amd athlon xp 2500+ barton core @2.16GHZ (180mhz 12x)
    cooler master x-dream(with cooler master high performance thermal compound)
    mobo: asus a7n8x deluxe
    512mb of ddr pc-3200
    radeon 9500 pro
    pctv tuner card
    antec 5.1 speakers
    antec case with 5 80mm fans
    430 watts psu
    15" monitor @ 1024*768 32bit 70hz
    48x cd-rom, 52x24x52x cdrw
    2x 160gbs 7200 rpm 8mb buffer maxtor hdd
    win xp pro with sp1a
    all drivers updated

    "They say that when you run a Microsoft CD backwards you can hear demonic voices... But that's nothing - When you run it forwards it installs Windows"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New England Highlands, Australia
    Posts
    21,907

    Default

    Very few CDRW's are happy at all in the slave position. Burning requires the CDRW to have full control of the IDE channel which it can't do in Slave mode.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •