Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9




  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by tima092384 View Post
    Interesting! I just tried this myself (Core 2 Duo E6600, not overclocked, 2x Crucial Ballistix 1GB DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 @ 2.2v) and got errors in MemTest. I then ran the Vista boot-time Memory Diagnostic, and it completed without error. I've been running the F9 BIOS for a couple of weeks and have had zero problems in Vista Ultimate, or for that matter, doing some boot-time partition copying with BootIt NG, so it seems to me, there's nothing wrong with the computer, but something in the F9 BIOS is causing MemTest to report spurious memory errors. Absent independent verification, I'm not going to worry about it.
    OK, here's some independent verification. I ran the Windows Memory Diagnostic from CD (this is different than the built-in Vista diagnostic), and I got many errors at 0x7FEEDF18. So whatever is wrong with the BIOS, it is affecting MemTest and Windows Memory Diagnostic in the same way. As for the Vista diagnostic not reporting errors, maybe it isn't testing as thoroughly as these other programs, or maybe the BIOS issue is irrelevant by the time it runs. I haven't had any problems running Vista with the F9 BIOS, but I've gone ahead and reverted to F8. Bye-bye CPU fan, but hey, it's winter anyway, right? (I'll try to ignore the currently 70F night.)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by tima092384 View Post
    Interesting! I just tried this myself (Core 2 Duo E6600, not overclocked, 2x Crucial Ballistix 1GB DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 @ 2.2v) and got errors in MemTest. I then ran the Vista boot-time Memory Diagnostic, and it completed without error. I've been running the F9 BIOS for a couple of weeks and have had zero problems in Vista Ultimate, or for that matter, doing some boot-time partition copying with BootIt NG, so it seems to me, there's nothing wrong with the computer, but something in the F9 BIOS is causing MemTest to report spurious memory errors. Absent independent verification, I'm not going to worry about it.
    Not to be a jerk, however your comment is very self centered thinking of you. Although you admit there is a problem that you saw as well, you assume everything is fine because it "seems" to work fine in Windows. I'm less concerned about that, and more concerned about all the memory manufacturer's out there that rely on memtest86+ to verify the stability of their user's memory when they come to them with issues. I can't even begin to think of the cost to the memory companies who are going to be swapping out all these supposably bad memory modules, or the consumers who have to spend time and money to ship back the old ones to find it makes no difference. A problem is a problem, whether it directly effects you or not.

    As a side note, Vista's memory diagnostics from what I hear is complete fluf.

    JR
    CPU
    Q6600@3.6 G0 Lapped
    Motherboard
    GA-P35-DS4
    Memory
    2GB OCZ DDR2 6400 CL 3 FlexXLC 3-4-4-12
    Graphics Card
    XFX 8800 GTS
    Power Supply
    OCZ GameXStream 700W

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by jriker1 View Post
    Not to be a jerk, however your comment is very self centered thinking of you. Although you admit there is a problem that you saw as well, you assume everything is fine because it "seems" to work fine in Windows. I'm less concerned about that, and more concerned about all the memory manufacturer's out there that rely on memtest86+ to verify the stability of their user's memory when they come to them with issues. I can't even begin to think of the cost to the memory companies who are going to be swapping out all these supposably bad memory modules, or the consumers who have to spend time and money to ship back the old ones to find it makes no difference. A problem is a problem, whether it directly effects you or not.
    JR
    Well, you're not being a jerk so much as you've misinterpreted where I'm coming from and so have attributed motivations, attitudes, and conclusions to me which are false. On second thought, you kinda are being a jerk. Of course there will be people who think their computer isn't working right due to this, and of course this will be a headache for memory companies. I certainly would have assumed the memory was bad if I had run MemTest or the Windows Memory Diagnostic program I mentioned in my follow-up message in a new build that came with the F9 BIOS preinstalled or with new memory. But I didn't. Instead, I did the things I talked about, namely installing the F9 BIOS into my existing system and running Vista and BING for a couple of weeks without issue. Anyone who's been around the block knows that diagnostic programs sometimes produce false positives, and companies get blamed every day for things that aren't their fault; I assume this goes without saying, but if it doesn't here, well, maybe that's the problem. If you think I was defending Gigabyte, or "thinking only of myself", or whatever other nonsense may have ran through your head, well, goto the start of this paragraph. Then try to drop your attitude and understand what I did write in my two previous messages.

    As a side note, Vista's memory diagnostics from what I hear is complete fluf.
    Cite?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by tima092384 View Post
    Well, you're not being a jerk so much as you've misinterpreted where I'm coming from and so have attributed motivations, attitudes, and conclusions to me which are false. On second thought, you kinda are being a jerk. Of course there will be people who think their computer isn't working right due to this, and of course this will be a headache for memory companies. I certainly would have assumed the memory was bad if I had run MemTest or the Windows Memory Diagnostic program I mentioned in my follow-up message in a new build that came with the F9 BIOS preinstalled or with new memory. But I didn't. Instead, I did the things I talked about, namely installing the F9 BIOS into my existing system and running Vista and BING for a couple of weeks without issue. Anyone who's been around the block knows that diagnostic programs sometimes produce false positives, and companies get blamed every day for things that aren't their fault; I assume this goes without saying, but if it doesn't here, well, maybe that's the problem. If you think I was defending Gigabyte, or "thinking only of myself", or whatever other nonsense may have ran through your head, well, goto the start of this paragraph. Then try to drop your attitude and understand what I did write in my two previous messages.

    I could futher argue this point, however it's not worth my time and is detracting from the issue at hand. A problem is a problem is a problem. Gigabyte needs to address it.

    JR
    Last edited by jriker1; 12-22-2007 at 04:57 AM.
    CPU
    Q6600@3.6 G0 Lapped
    Motherboard
    GA-P35-DS4
    Memory
    2GB OCZ DDR2 6400 CL 3 FlexXLC 3-4-4-12
    Graphics Card
    XFX 8800 GTS
    Power Supply
    OCZ GameXStream 700W

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by jriker1 View Post
    I could futher argue this point
    No doubt. People do argue all sorts of things.

    however it's not worth my time and is detracting from the issue at hand. A problem is a problem is a problem. Gigabyte needs to address it.
    On that we agree.

    BTW, when you said, "As a side note, Vista's memory diagnostics from what I hear is complete fluf," were you just spreading FUD, or can you provide the citation I requested in my last message? Given that the Windows Memory Diagnostic, which predates Vista, found errors at the exact same memory location as MemTest, while the Vista Memory Diagnostic found no errors, it's natural to wonder, "maybe it isn't testing as thoroughly as these other programs, or maybe the BIOS issue is irrelevant by the time it runs", which is what I said in my earlier message. I don't know which it is, but I would hope it's at least as good as its predecessor, the Windows Memory Diagnostic. (It's actually in MS's interest to make it good, because people blame Windows for hardware errors all the time.) If it is, then people running Vista and perhaps other OSes aren't in trouble, despite MemTest indicating that they are. That would be valuable to know, and that's what I was talking about; it's terrible to find out you've been using a system for weeks that appears to have been working fine but may have had a deadly flaw all along, that has been silently corrupting data. I have zero evidence that this problem exists outside of programs such as MemTest and the Windows Memory Diagnostic, and since I haven't lost data or experienced crashes in Vista while running BIOS F9 from 12/3/07 to 12/20/07, I'm a little skeptical this is a real problem from this perspective. Then you come along and say that you've "heard" the Vista Memory Diagnostic is "fluf" (sic), and as is so often the case, ignore a request for a cite to back it up. Until you provide such a cite, your claim is what's "fluff".

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Thanks so much for the info here you saved me an RMA.

    I too had lots of errors using memtest86+ and windows memtest.

    Went back to f8 and no more errors.

    I wrote to Gigabyte support

    Question
    Bios f9 is causing HUGE memory errors. Used Memtest86+ and windows memtest
    Went back to bios f8 and eveything is fine

    Answer from them 12/28/2007
    hello,
    mother board bios memory voltage setting is base on 1.8v ( default voltage ), please check current model memory voltage spec if it's higher then 1.8v go in bios under M/B intelligent tweaker memory voltage control item adjust memory voltage to match memory voltage needs .
    for example : current memory is 2.2v go in bios M/B intelligent tweaker on memory voltage control item change to +0.4v ( 1.8v + 0.4v = 2.2v ) this will match the current model memory voltage spec system will work stable .

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    http://forums.tweaktown.com/showpost...11&postcount=9

    Quote Originally Posted by miahallen View Post
    "User CP" -> "Edit Signature" ....you'll see mine at the bottom of this post ;)



    I recently contacted Gigabyte (via thier online technical support "email") concerning this F9 memory issue...I've posted my communitcation with them on XS Forums, but I'll post it here as well...thanks jriker1 for the intro to this forum, cheers!







    The following day, they responded with:





    I wrote back with this:





    Then I flashed back to the F9 BIOS and re-ran the tests with the "fail-safe" settings, and the "optimized" settings, just to cover all my bases.

    fail-safe:



    optimized:





    Gigabyte contacted me a final time with:
    Had exactly the same problem testing 5 rigs with the following spec:

    1 x 3U Antec TAKE3 Rackcase with 450W PSU fan/filters in Black<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
    E6750, S775, 2.66 GHz, 1333MHz FSB <o:p></o:p>
    GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R
    Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 XMS2 Dominator Memory Non-ECC Unbuffered CL5(5-5-5-15) E.P.P. DHX <o:p></o:p>
    1 x WESTERN DIGITAL 36GB WD360ADFD Raptor, SATA150, 10000 rpm, 16MB Cache, 5.2 ms, NCQ HDD<o:p></o:p>
    1 x LG GDR-H30NBL 52x16 DVD-Rom Black
    1 x XFX 256MB XFX 8600GT, PCI-E (x16), Mem 1400 MHz, GDDR3, Dual Link DVI
    1 x MS Windows XP Pro SP2

    I was using BIOS F9 on all 5 systems and all had the same issue. Thank you so much for posting

    best regards

    e2x
    Last edited by e2x; 01-01-2008 at 12:49 AM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Bios F10 I see is now out. I'm going to give it a try and see what happens.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by miahallen View Post
    I recently contacted Gigabyte (via thier online technical support "email") concerning this F9 memory issue...I've posted my communitcation with them on XS Forums, but I'll post it here as well...thanks jriker1 for the intro to this forum, cheers!

    System Configuration
    VGA Brand : Nvidia Model : eVGA 8800GTX
    CPU Brand : Intel Model : Q6600 Speed : 2.4GHz
    Operation System : n/a SP :
    Memory Brand : Type : DDRII
    Memory Size : various Speed : various
    Power Supply : 500 W

    tested four different sets of memory:
    (x2) 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 @ 800MHz 4-4-4-12 2.2V
    (x1) 2x1GB Corsair Dominator PC2-8500 @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 2.2V
    (x1) 2x2GB G.SKILL PC2-8000 @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 2.1V
    tested by pairs & with individual DIMMS. Results never varied.
    This is a bug report for GA-P35-DS4 Rev.2.0 ***F9 BIOS***
    Running the popluar memory diagnostic tool "memtest86+" v1.7 results in numerous "false positive" errors. Errors always occurring during test 1 and/or test 2 and always at address "0007feedf18" regardless of memory brand/size/configuration. I flashed back to the F8 BIOS and memtest86+ v1.7 runs without issue.
    Please refer to the "more detailed configurations" section for more information on tested memory.
    I also briefly tested memtest86 v3.2 with the same "false positive" errors.
    F8 BIOS

    F9 BIOS
    The following day, they responded with:

    No issue with bios below F9?
    Any settings overclocked?
    How about running it at default specs?
    I wrote back with this:
    "No issue with bios below F9?"
    No, F7 & F8 work fine, no issues found.

    "Any settings overclocked?"
    I've tried overclocked, underclocked, and rated speeds for all components with the same results in memtest. I even tried the Crucial Ballistix, rated at 800MHz 4-4-4-12 2.2V, at 800MHz 5-5-5-15 2.2V (underclocked) and still got the same errors with F9. With F8, I can run at 1200MHz 5-5-5-15 2.2V without errors.

    "How about running it at default specs?"
    Set everything at factory rated spec, still got the same errors in F9.

    "Ryouko" alearted me to the issue in post #1823 of the Gigabyte P35 thread (page #73) at XtremeSystems Forums...feel free to read our discussion here (toward the bottom):
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...142340&page=73
    He has had similar results:
    I have been running memtest86+ on it (usb legacy disabled) with 3 different sets of corsair CM2X1024-6400C4 and then I tried the Crucial Ballistix BL2Kit12864AA804 and they both failed, both with using the pc35-ds4 default configuration, and with the optimized configurations that are recommended by the memory companies website.
    Then I flashed back to the F9 BIOS and re-ran the tests with the "fail-safe" settings, and the "optimized" settings, just to cover all my bases.
    fail-safe:

    optimized:


    Gigabyte contacted me a final time with:
    revert back to the F8 bios for now, we will examine the F9 bios
    Just wanted to let you all know the problem has been resolved with the new F11 BIOS...no more memtest86+ v1.7 errors for me. Thank you Gigabyte!
    The post counter is not an intelligence meter!



    Heat Team IRONMODS

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •