Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    I have a rev 2.0 of the P35-DS4 motherboard. Running F9 bios. I am getting major errors with my ram when running memtest86+ 1.70. Memory seems to work fine in Windows physically though. Fails most all memory tests. I saw a thread that seems to have others having similar problems with the F9 bios. Does anyone know anything about this?

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...142340&page=73

    See post #1823 on the above link.

    Thanks

    JR

    P.S. I know the main thread name GS4 instead of DS4 is wrong, but this forum tool won't let you rename the base thread name.
    Last edited by jriker1; 12-20-2007 at 02:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Hey J,

    I had the same problems and with Vista in low power state it wouldn't even come back up, just kept recycling. I backed down to F8 and everything was fine again. It appears Gigabyte definitely has a problem with F9.

    Tim

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Why is everybody so lazy that they won´t post their specs for the hardware of theirs so people like me who are trying to figure something out of this all to get a stable and good system up and running has to ask it separately? Are we not in for the same reasons here?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Taipei, Taiwan
    Posts
    398

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Daer all

    please post your spec when you ask question in order other people can help you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    This is interesting. I will run memtest in the morning and post my results. I have no problems in benchmarks or apps so far.
    39846-3dMark03 20963-3dMark05 11833-3dMark06
    8975-PCMark05
    Runs all Everest tests with good results and no errors
    Intel Core2Duo E6850('Conroe') @ 3.6
    Asus P5E x38 Rev 1.03 1201 SSD Mod bios
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
    OCZ EL DDR2 PC2-8800 4GB @1080mhz
    150GB WD Raptor 10,000RPM x2 Raid0
    300GB Maxtor
    640GB WD x2
    Sapphire HD6950 Crossfire
    E-MU E-DSP Audio Processor 1616m
    PC Power & Cooling 750 Quad PSU
    Antec SX830 Modded
    W7 Pro 64bit
    Viewsonic VX2255wmb x2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by Bopster View Post
    This is interesting. I will run memtest in the morning and post my results. I have no problems in benchmarks or apps so far.
    39846-3dMark03 20963-3dMark05 11833-3dMark06
    8975-PCMark05
    Runs all Everest tests with good results and no errors
    I just have to admit.. That is an interesting experience of yours. A rig that actually works the way it is supposed to! What an earth have you done wrong???

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by Bopster View Post
    This is interesting. I will run memtest in the morning and post my results. I have no problems in benchmarks or apps so far.
    39846-3dMark03 20963-3dMark05 11833-3dMark06
    8975-PCMark05
    Runs all Everest tests with good results and no errors
    Everest doesn't seem to push the ram to much from what I can see. Never see the RAM usage go up much during it's testing. My system seemed to work flawlessly in 3DMark06 however was erroring on some of the more intense testing tools. If you are on the F9 bios, try using memtest86+ with a boot floppy or SuperPI. Both crashed on mine until I backed down to F8.

    JR

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by GIGABYTE - Janus Yeh View Post
    Daer all

    please post your spec when you ask question in order other people can help you.
    Although it's probably not overly relevant other than the board itself and the bios version, here are my specs, however I suggest using a forum tool that supports tag lines with your info like other sites do. Entering it each time manually is a real pain. If this supports it, please let me know where to go to set it.

    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="25%" height=26>CPU
    Q6600@3.6 G0 Lapped
    </TD><TD vAlign=top width="25%">Motherboard
    GA-P35-DS4
    </TD><TD vAlign=top width="25%">Memory
    2GB OCZ DDR2 6400 CL 3 FlexXLC 3-4-4-12 (temp)
    </TD><TD vAlign=top width="25%">Graphics Card
    XFX 8800 GTS
    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>Hard Drive
    WD 750GB SATA
    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Power Supply
    OCZ GameXStream 700W
    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Case
    Antec P182
    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>CPU cooling
    Tuniq Tower 120 Lapped + Silverstream Fan
    </TD><TD vAlign=top>GPU cooling
    Stock
    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Memory cooling
    Stock
    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Case cooling
    2-120mm Silverstream (outtake)
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: P35-GS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by jriker1 View Post
    Although it's probably not overly relevant other than the board itself and the bios version, here are my specs, however I suggest using a forum tool that supports tag lines with your info like other sites do. Entering it each time manually is a real pain. If this supports it, please let me know where to go to set it.

    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="25%" height=26>CPU
    Q6600@3.6 G0 Lapped


    </TD><TD vAlign=top width="25%">Motherboard
    GA-P35-DS4


    </TD><TD vAlign=top width="25%">Memory
    2GB OCZ DDR2 6400 CL 3 FlexXLC 3-4-4-12 (temp)


    </TD><TD vAlign=top width="25%">Graphics Card
    XFX 8800 GTS


    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>Hard Drive
    WD 750GB SATA


    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Power Supply
    OCZ GameXStream 700W


    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Case
    Antec P182


    </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>CPU cooling
    Tuniq Tower 120 Lapped + Silverstream Fan


    </TD><TD vAlign=top>GPU cooling
    Stock


    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Memory cooling
    Stock


    </TD><TD vAlign=top>Case cooling
    2-120mm Silverstream (outtake)


    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    "User CP" -> "Edit Signature" ....you'll see mine at the bottom of this post ;)

    I recently contacted Gigabyte (via thier online technical support "email") concerning this F9 memory issue...I've posted my communitcation with them on XS Forums, but I'll post it here as well...thanks jriker1 for the intro to this forum, cheers!

    System Configuration
    VGA Brand : Nvidia Model : eVGA 8800GTX
    CPU Brand : Intel Model : Q6600 Speed : 2.4GHz
    Operation System : n/a SP :
    Memory Brand : Type : DDRII
    Memory Size : various Speed : various
    Power Supply : 500 W

    tested four different sets of memory:
    (x2) 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 @ 800MHz 4-4-4-12 2.2V
    (x1) 2x1GB Corsair Dominator PC2-8500 @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 2.2V
    (x1) 2x2GB G.SKILL PC2-8000 @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 2.1V
    tested by pairs & with individual DIMMS. Results never varied.
    This is a bug report for GA-P35-DS4 Rev.2.0 ***F9 BIOS***
    Running the popluar memory diagnostic tool "memtest86+" v1.7 results in numerous "false positive" errors. Errors always occurring during test 1 and/or test 2 and always at address "0007feedf18" regardless of memory brand/size/configuration. I flashed back to the F8 BIOS and memtest86+ v1.7 runs without issue.
    Please refer to the "more detailed configurations" section for more information on tested memory.
    I also briefly tested memtest86 v3.2 with the same "false positive" errors.
    F8 BIOS

    F9 BIOS
    The following day, they responded with:

    No issue with bios below F9?
    Any settings overclocked?
    How about running it at default specs?
    I wrote back with this:
    "No issue with bios below F9?"
    No, F7 & F8 work fine, no issues found.

    "Any settings overclocked?"
    I've tried overclocked, underclocked, and rated speeds for all components with the same results in memtest. I even tried the Crucial Ballistix, rated at 800MHz 4-4-4-12 2.2V, at 800MHz 5-5-5-15 2.2V (underclocked) and still got the same errors with F9. With F8, I can run at 1200MHz 5-5-5-15 2.2V without errors.

    "How about running it at default specs?"
    Set everything at factory rated spec, still got the same errors in F9.

    "Ryouko" alearted me to the issue in post #1823 of the Gigabyte P35 thread (page #73) at XtremeSystems Forums...feel free to read our discussion here (toward the bottom):
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...142340&page=73
    He has had similar results:
    I have been running memtest86+ on it (usb legacy disabled) with 3 different sets of corsair CM2X1024-6400C4 and then I tried the Crucial Ballistix BL2Kit12864AA804 and they both failed, both with using the pc35-ds4 default configuration, and with the optimized configurations that are recommended by the memory companies website.
    Then I flashed back to the F9 BIOS and re-ran the tests with the "fail-safe" settings, and the "optimized" settings, just to cover all my bases.
    fail-safe:

    optimized:


    Gigabyte contacted me a final time with:
    revert back to the F8 bios for now, we will examine the F9 bios
    The post counter is not an intelligence meter!



    Heat Team IRONMODS

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: P35-DS4 Memory problems F9

    Quote Originally Posted by jriker1 View Post
    I have a rev 2.0 of the P35-DS4 motherboard. Running F9 bios. I am getting major errors with my ram when running memtest86+ 1.70. Memory seems to work fine in Windows physically though. Fails most all memory tests. I saw a thread that seems to have others having similar problems with the F9 bios. Does anyone know anything about this?

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...142340&page=73

    See post #1823 on the above link.

    Thanks

    JR

    P.S. I know the main thread name GS4 instead of DS4 is wrong, but this forum tool won't let you rename the base thread name.
    Interesting! I just tried this myself (Core 2 Duo E6600, not overclocked, 2x Crucial Ballistix 1GB DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 @ 2.2v) and got errors in MemTest. I then ran the Vista boot-time Memory Diagnostic, and it completed without error. I've been running the F9 BIOS for a couple of weeks and have had zero problems in Vista Ultimate, or for that matter, doing some boot-time partition copying with BootIt NG, so it seems to me, there's nothing wrong with the computer, but something in the F9 BIOS is causing MemTest to report spurious memory errors. Absent independent verification, I'm not going to worry about it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •