Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: P32-DS3R 2.1 - endless reboots - please help.

Default P32-DS3R 2.1 - endless reboots - please help.

The motherboard on my 4 year old computer died last week so I decided to build a new system. This is my first build and its been hell. I put it all together last night and used my existing hard drive to boot to my existing Windows XP install and all was good. I copied my important files to a second hard drive and then re-booted with Vista64 DVD to install Vista. Since then its been horrible:

1. During the Vista install I noticed that whenever Vista wanted to reboot as part of the installation it would hang. I would have to press the reset button on the case and then it would come back up and continue the install as if it had rebooted on its own. It did this 3-4 times during the install, but did eventually install the OS.

2. After I got vista installed it would randomly stop working after a few minutes (varied between 5 - 15 mins). Stop working means the video would go black and the hard drive appeared to stop working. The cpu/case fans were on, but nothing was happening. This would require a reset via case button.

3. At some point when logging out of Vista I pressed the windows icon in the bottom left and clicked on where shutdown is normally in XP. I think in Vista it is sleep or hibernate. Not sure. The computer turned off (all fans and everything), but my keyboard and mouse were still lit up. When I tried to wake it nothing would wake up. I moved the mouse, hit keys, tried the power button... nothing would work. I eventually turned off the power supply and unplugged it.