Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    20

    Default GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    Hi, I just got my new GA-EP35-DS3R. I have 2 problem with this motherboard.
    The first problem. DDR2 Voltage: normal setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    +.1 setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    +.2 setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    +.3 setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    +.3 setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    +.4 setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    +.5 setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    +.6 setting BIOS reading is 1.88, Hardware Monitor from CPUid say 1.88
    Is there a bug? I am using F3b Bios. My ram is rated for 1066 at 5-5-5-15 up to 2.3V. It's 4GB(2x2Gb).
    Right now I am running at 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 with 1.88V. I want to increase the voltage for more speed! I do not know why the BIOS is not responding to the voltage increment setting.

    2nd Problem: In windows, everytime I restart computer instead of shutdown, the motherboard shutdown and turn back on and shutdown and turn back on repeated for every 5 sec. It get stuck in a loop. I cann't get out of the loop unless I pull the power plug. I am aware of the DES loop problem but not this.

    Oh btw, I am running my GO Q6600 at 3.2(356*9). 1.575V setting, BIOS read 1.52 droop to 1.47.

  2. #2
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    Do you have this issue with NON BETA BIOS? I would suggest if you used F2 with no issues to go back to it, or if you never used it to give it a try. The last few Beta Bios's I tried were plagued with bugs.

    I would say the problems are from your overclock settings still needing some adjustment, or the beta bios. The voltages you see are likely because you are not getting those settings reloaded and upon the reboot it defaults back to 1.8? This voltage is probably the cause of the cycle as well, since 1.8 is not enough to run 1066 stably

    You likely also need some MCH voltage adjustments as well? Please post your BIOS MIT settings here, add or remove anything you need to.

    Robust Graphics Booster___________ [Auto]
    CPU Clock Ratio ____________ [8]
    CPU Host Clock Control_ [Enabled]
    CPU Host Frequency (MHz)__________ [450]
    PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)_______ [102]
    C.I.A. 2__________________________ [Disabled]
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD)____ [2.00]
    DRAM Timing Selectable_______ SPD __ [Manual]

    CAS Latency Time_____________ 5 ____ ?
    Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay______ 5 ____ ?
    Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_____5 ____?
    Precharge Delay (tRAS)________15 ____ ?
    ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_______4 _____ ?
    Rank Write to READ Delay______3 _____ ?
    Write to Precharge Delay______6 _____ ?
    Refresh to ACT Delay________42 ______ ?
    Read to Precharge Delay_______4 _____ ?
    Static tRead Value_______________ 1-31
    Static tRead Phase Adjust________ 1-31

    System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
    DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [+0.300V]
    PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [+0.1V]
    FSB OverVoltage Control___ [+0.1V]
    (G)MCH OverVoltage Control [+0.1V]
    CPU Voltage Control_______ [1.25]

    *EDIT*

    Ya I suggest you go back to F2 BIOS, no need for F3 or F3b beta even since you are not using a new CPU

    This is likely adding to if not causing your issues. I would also suggest you feel your NB and see how hot it is under a full load. If you cant keep your finger on there for 10 seconds, you need to add a 40mm fan or something active like a Thermaltake Extreme Spirit II
    Last edited by Lsdmeasap; 04-01-2008 at 02:30 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    Ya, I haven't played with the F2 BIOS yet. It is wise to do it. :) I will try it tonight to let you know. The chipset sink is luke warm, not much hot. I have Antec 900 case so it's a big help. The side 120mm fine blow straight onto it. I also used AS5 on MCH too. As others reviewed on newegg, the memory does run at 1066 @1.8V with 5-5-5-15. It goes up to 1200 @2.3V.

    Here are my current settings:


    Robust Graphics Booster___________ [Auto]
    CPU Clock Ratio ____________ [9]
    CPU Host Clock Control_ [Enabled]
    CPU Host Frequency (MHz)__________ [356]
    PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)_______ [100]
    C.I.A. 2__________________________ [Disabled]
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD)____ [3]
    DRAM Timing Selectable_______ SPD __ [Manual]

    CAS Latency Time_____________ 5 ____5
    Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay______ 5 ____ 5
    Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_____5 ____5
    Precharge Delay (tRAS)________15 ____ 15
    ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_______4 _____ Auto
    Rank Write to READ Delay______3 _____ Auto
    Write to Precharge Delay______6 _____ Auto
    Refresh to ACT Delay________42 ______ Auto
    Read to Precharge Delay_______4 _____ Auto
    Static tRead Value_______________ 1-31 Auto
    Static tRead Phase Adjust________ 1-31 Auto

    System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
    DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [+0.400V] atm since it doesn't do anything
    PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [+0.1V]
    FSB OverVoltage Control___ [+0.1V]
    (G)MCH OverVoltage Control [+0.1V]
    CPU Voltage Control_______ [1.575] BIOS reads it as 1.52V though, good enough as long as it works :)

    On the side note, so far this configuration pass 10 hours of prime95 25.6 and memtest86+(10 pass) There also seem to be a wall for FSB at 400. I tried to lower multiplier to 6 and increase fsb over 400 cause the system to not boot. Oh and also, is there a way to go to BIOS setup immediately after detecting ide? The RAID's BIOS take long time to load.

  4. #4
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    I would suggest 2 things for now. Install F2

    But before you do that I would double check those voltages with Everest Ultimate

    It is AHCI BIOS that takes time to load, Do you have that on and RAID? If so Turn of AHCI

    Yes there is/should be a FSB wall at 400, try above or below. Have you tried 8X425 for 3.4?

    How is your CPU temps? That is some high voltage for CPU volts, especially with such a low clock. I would think you would only need that much for 3.6 or close to it, not 3.2

    Ya may want to add +.5 or the next one up for MCH as well and then try lower those CPU volts.

    And finally to be safe, I would lower the memory voltages to 2.1-2.2 just incase it is working and just not being reported properly

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    20

    Unhappy Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    F3b bios- everest read it at 1.88 no change at all.

    I installed F2. Here are the result.
    ddr2 normal setting: 2.2V (quite unsafe for new user w/ low ddr2 voltage ram)
    ddr2 -1 : 1.8 (use control +f1 for this feature)
    ddr2+1 : 1.89
    ddr2 +2 : 2.0
    ddr2 +3 : 2.1V
    ddr2 +4 :2.2V

    Ya, there is definite something wrong with the normal setting. Also this version does not let you overclock the processor. No matter why FSB frequency I use, it still boot up at 2.4ghz. So here are the conclusion:

    F3b - allow cpu overclocking, no ddr2 voltage setting, 5 sec reboot loop
    F2- no cpu overclocking, allow ddr2 voltage setting

    F2 bios settings: host clock enable, i am still running at 266
    Robust Graphics Booster___________ [Auto]
    CPU Clock Ratio ____________ [9]
    CPU Host Clock Control_ [Enabled]
    CPU Host Frequency (MHz)__________ [333]
    PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)_______ [100]
    C.I.A. 2__________________________ [Disabled]
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD)____ [3]
    DRAM Timing Selectable_______ SPD __ [Manual]

    CAS Latency Time_____________ 5 ____5
    Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay______ 5 ____ 5
    Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_____5 ____5
    Precharge Delay (tRAS)________15 ____ 15
    ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_______4 _____ Auto
    Rank Write to READ Delay______3 _____ Auto
    Write to Precharge Delay______6 _____ Auto
    Refresh to ACT Delay________42 ______ Auto
    Read to Precharge Delay_______4 _____ Auto
    Static tRead Value_______________ 1-31 Auto
    Static tRead Phase Adjust________ 1-31 Auto

    System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
    DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [+.1] atm since it doesn't do anything
    PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [normal]
    FSB OverVoltage Control___ [normal]
    (G)MCH OverVoltage Control [normal]
    CPU Voltage Control_______ [1.325]

  6. #6
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    When you installed F2, did you set optimized defaults, then save and reboot before applying your cpu setting?

    Yeah, auto/normal is not good always, I say do everything manually unless you dont have a clue. So try F2 again, load and save/apply/reboot then set your ram at what you know is correct. Then boot into windows and make sure that is still working, then go back and disable TM2, Speedstep, And EIST then make your cpu changes. Are you sure you are giving the CPU enough volts to begin your overclocking?

    Just checking. HAHA Or did you maybe not have those other features I mentioned turned off? I have seen no similar reports of this CPU wont overclock thing you are mentioning, without a reboot cycle (Which would just mean you need more volts, or something along those lines)

    I would say try this for 3.2 and see if it works for now to overclock the CPU, if so then we can work on the rest>>>>

    Robust Graphics Booster___________ [Auto]
    CPU Clock Ratio ____________ [8]
    CPU Host Clock Control_ [Enabled]
    CPU Host Frequency (MHz)__________ [425]
    PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)_______ [100]
    C.I.A. 2__________________________ [Disabled]
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD)____ [2.0]
    DRAM Timing Selectable_______ SPD __ [Manual]

    CAS Latency Time_____________ 5 ____5
    Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay______ 5 ____ 5
    Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_____5 ____5
    Precharge Delay (tRAS)________15 ____ 15
    ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_______4 _____ Auto
    Rank Write to READ Delay______3 _____ Auto
    Write to Precharge Delay______6 _____ Auto
    Refresh to ACT Delay________42 ______ 52-62
    Read to Precharge Delay_______4 _____ Auto
    Static tRead Value_______________ 1-31 8-10
    Static tRead Phase Adjust________ 1-31 Auto

    System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
    DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [+.4] = 2.2
    PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [+.1]
    FSB OverVoltage Control___ [+.1]
    (G)MCH OverVoltage Control [+.1-1.5/2.0]
    CPU Voltage Control_______ [1.450] <<<this may need more only you should know already for 3.2
    Last edited by Lsdmeasap; 04-01-2008 at 10:49 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    20

    Thumbs up Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    I don't know what I did last night, but 30 min after posting I managed to overclock. I think I had to load that optimized bios in order overclocking to work or enable temp protect at 60C. Whatever I did, I will try to figure it out. Probably get flash F2 BIOS again to redo the process. I can get to 425*8 now, but failed prime95 test at 1.525V in bios(1.47 reading w/o droop). Stable at 400*8 though. I have not disabled TM2, Speedstep, And EIST. Maybe if i disable them, the cpu will run much higher. Thank you very much Lsdmeasap! Saved me alot of troubles. :) Ya, F3b is buggy. I will try STR function when I get home. I hope it doesn't have problem like everyone else. Oh Btw, do you guys put extra heatsink on PWM located on top and side of cpu? My finger is too fat to fit in there while computer is running(fan will chop of my fingers :).

    last0ne
    Last edited by last0ne; 04-02-2008 at 12:41 AM.

  8. #8
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    Well, yeah! You need to load that first anytime you flash, save and apply, then reboot and make your system changes, save and apply, reboot and make your overclock changes. At least that is how I do it, seems to be the better way to me/

    Yeah, Disable those, they for sure will mess with your overclock. Your CPU will shut down before you can harm it, with or without those on.

    Anything you can SAFELY put a heatsink on the better, use NON conductive paste

    Sleep will not work, You can try but I assure you it wont. Reboot Cycle will be caused

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    Sleep (STR(3)) works for me, although I don't know if it really saves a lot as the fans still run. STR(1) results in the 3 reboots and back to stock settings in bios. This is with F3b.

  10. #10
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-EP35-DS3R 2.1 F3b Bios-DDR2 Voltage, Reboot 5 sec Loop

    Hmm, sounds like they finally have it partially working. Although I would still suggest not using Any method of it, since it can cause the reboot cycle... you dont want that to go into a constant cycle and have to RMA

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •