Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: A word of warning about f8b




  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    Quote Originally Posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
    I am sure everytime a beta, or non beta bios is suggested it is followed with the normal bios warnings.
    Don't be so sure.
    I received this answer to a question I asked over at GGTS:
    Can you please try with this latest Bios F3b and try again.
    Here is the link of the Bios F3b:
    GIGABYTE - Support - Motherboard - BIOS - GA-EP35-DS3 (rev. 2.1)
    No warning whatsoever.

    In reply I asked this:
    I am aware of this bios, but was reluctant to install it as it is a beta. Does it have all the functionalities of the previous versions? (BTW: do you know when the next bios will be released for the EP35-DS3 and will this next release also address the problem I and many others are having with the S3 sleep mode when using 45nm processors?)
    I never received a reply!

  2. #12
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    Well as I said, it is there on that page you linked to.

    Warning:
    Because BIOS flashing is potentially risky, if you do not encounter problems using the current version of BIOS, it is recommended that you not flash the BIOS. To flash the BIOS, do it with caution. Inadequate BIOS flashing may result in system malfunction.

    What is a BETA?
    BETA describes a new version that is reliable yet may not include all the features of the final product. During this phase we are previewing new features and gathering customer input to insure our product provides the best experience possible
    I know not everyone knows how dangerous a BIOS flash is or can be, so I see your point for sure. But ya, usually you see that warning, and if janus posts a beta not listed on the main page for gigabyte bios's a warning is also stated.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    Quote Originally Posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
    Well as I said, it is there on that page you linked to.
    Contradictory, is it not?
    On the bios page they warn against beta bios flashing, but the GGTS people incite people to do so.

    What's more, this bios is a beta release since the 5th of February.
    Now, more than 2 months later still no final release.

    Support you say?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    Quote Originally Posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
    From what this says yes >>>>>
    -- GIGABYTE --Geeks Column of the Week - BIOS Explained

    From what I have read, and been told, and see On my board no, it is all virtual

    Janus can you answer this directly?
    What do you mean "virtual". My EX38-DS4 has 2 physical BIOS chips. The documentation says that if primary fails then backup BIOS will automatically take over. Does it not work the way it is documented? I would really like this clarified by Gigabyte before I do any flashing on this board.

    If it does work the way it's documented then no one ever needs to be concerned about installing a beta BIOS if they have physical dual BIOS.

  5. #15

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    I think he's saying virtual because if you go read that linked page the bios will show 2 chips in the bios backup screen, and my board (I'm supposing like his) only shows the single BIOS chip bios screens from that link. So from this he's concluding 1 physical chip. I think he's concluded wrong and that the link is wrong. As my manual clearly shows 2 physical chips and looking at the board there's 2 chips.
    Take care,
    Rick
    GA EP35 DS3P w/ E6400 @ 3.2 Ghz, 2 x 2Gb G-Skill PC8000, XFX 9600GT, Corsair TX 650W

  6. #16
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    NO, there is NOT 2 chips there is ONE. The Dual BIOS is virtual. The documentation is a right out lie. You can look at your board and see the ONE chip

    DQ6 HAS 2 Chips though for sure, anything not DQ6 has one. And as you see that is a lie as well really, DQ6 is supposed to be quad, but it like the other has virtual. So 2 real, 2 virtual.

    Show me on your board, there is only ONE chip. And also shown in the manual

    P35-X (One chip, Dual Bios)



    P35-DQ6 (2 Chips, Quad Bios)


    *EDIT*

    I do see what you mean on the boards though, it does have two chips there, but I think if it actually used them there would be FAR less RMA due to Bad BIOS.

    I actually just seen there is 2 chips on my DS4, but I cannot switch to the other as you can in a DQ6 so I think it is disabled and not actually used AT ALL again otherwise there would be less need for RMA due to bad BIOS

    But who know, and from what I have read from others, and Ga responses they do not want to directly answer this

    Who knows, as there is also MANY DQ6 RMA's due to bad BIOS as well.

    I think a better solution GA needs to implement 2 actual PLLC chips that can be replaced by the end user if need be. Ga would actually save money in the end by doing this instead of needing to RMA so many boards due to the solution they use now
    Last edited by Lsdmeasap; 04-17-2008 at 12:03 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    My EX38-DS4 has 2 BIOS chips. The manual says if the main BIOS is corrupted or damaged then the backup BIOS will take over on the next system boot and copy the backup BIOS to the main BIOS. I assume this is all supposed to happen automatically. It also says that for the sake of safety users cannot update the backup BIOS. This also inidicates to me that this is all supposed to happen automatically.

    Like you said, from the number of RMAs, it appears not to work the way I'm sure it was intended to. The fact that Gigabyte don't seem interested in answering any questions on this (and other issues) makes me feel like sending this board back right now.

    I'd sure like to know if this works but I don't want to destroy my board testing it. Anyone else up for the challenge. Maybe someone can ask Gigabyte for a board to test this on. Maybe you Lsdmeasap.

  8. #18
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    Well yeah that would be nice to have a board to kill in testing, but I think it has already been proven thru Many RMA's that it does not work as intended!

    I think you will be fine to flash, just be sure your absolutely stable and then do the flash Via Qflash w/USB or floppy and you should be fine.

    I used to use @bios and had no issues, but have since read a few more board deaths because of it and now only do Qflash myself

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    On another forum I post I've had one report so far of an X38-DS4 (not sure if it was EX38) recovering from failed flash and the backup kicking in. Unfortunately whenever he flashes his BIOS it always fails for some reason and the backup recovers it each time.

    Maybe it's hit or miss (mostly miss) with this feature of the board too. I'll make sure I always use USB for update rather then @BIOS, just in case.

  10. #20
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: A word of warning about f8b

    Hey, ya know that could actually be the Hidden one in the HPA on the disk (We just had a still unproven/unanswered Thread on this here somewhere).

    Can you ask that user to verify that he is not using RAID? It could just be the disk backup if he isnt using raid, and the only way to test that would be for that user to disconnect his disks when he is in the cycle and see if it actually recovers the bios from the chip or not

    I think the only REAL way to test this would be to setup a RAID only on a new system that had never had either disk connected to the board otherwise and then cause a BIOS failure purposely and see what happens

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •