Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: GA-MA78GM-S2H SATA HDD Issues

Default GA-MA78GM-S2H SATA HDD Issues

Hi All,

Newbie here..

Just bought a new HTPC set up:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e 2.5GHz Socket AM2 Energy Efficient 1MB
    Maxtor 500GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm *32MB Cache* - OEM
    Corsair 4GB Kit (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 XMS2 Memory Non-ECC
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G Socket AM2+ onboard VGA 8 channel audio mATX Motherboard
    LG Electronics Blu-Ray & HD-DVD-Rom Combo 16x DVDRW Black SATA - Retail Box With Software

And am having a nightmare installing XP.

I couldn't get started with the memory and Blu-ray drive so changed to 2x1GB OCZ 6400 Special Ops DDR2 which I pulled from my other pc (in full working order).

I am now using a Sony DVDRW IDE Drive to install windows.

I have played around with Bios settings for two days and either get stuck on the screen saying verifiying DMI Pool data or get to Windows XP install only to find the system does not see any HDD with a SATA installed or get NTLDR not found (when trying to install on an old WD 80 gig IDE HDD)

I do not need Raid - my HTPC case will only allow me to fit in one HDD anyway so I can and do want to run the SATA as IDE. My normal desktop uses an AMD 570 Chipset (gigabyte board as well) and I could install windows ok on that one as an ide Drive on another Maxtor 500GB SATA HDD.

First try -

BIOS Intergrated Peripherals:

Onchip Sata Controller > Enabled, On Chip Sata Type > Native IDE, Onchip SATA Port 4/5 > IDE - the HDD is in Sata Port 4, the pc restarts and recoginses my Maxtor HDD but I get stuck on Verifying DMI Pool Data

So I change to Onchip Sata > Enabled, On Chip Sata Type > AHCI, Onchip SATA Port 4/5 > IDE - the pc restarts and recoginses my Maxtor HDD but I still get stuck on Verifying DMI Pool Data