Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: GA-MA78GPM-DS2H 07B STOP error loading xp

Default GA-MA78GPM-DS2H 07B STOP error loading xp

noob here - first time on TT. I bought this new GB mobo and can't get xp installed on it. Vista just hangs. On XP it blue screens with 0x000007B stop error. Most of my Googling has been leading me to this forum. Lots of great info. Most of my troubleshooting ideas have come off this site. I just can't seem to get this machine up after trying on and off for over a month. Maybe someone can shed some insight?
    I've got 2 SATA HDD's I tried. Both fairly new, no jumpers. Tried using the MSI SB700 RAID drivers as nanohead suggested in another TT forum. My HDD's are on SATA II Port 0. Tried Native IDE in Bios thinking that might do it. No love. Tried moving the memory sticks one at a time to the first position. No go. Afraid to reload the BIOS after reading nanohead's dreadful RMA saga with the GA-MA78GM boards. did the F6 to load drivers with BIOS set for AHCI on ports 0-3. Tried choosing "optimised settings" in Bios. I would love to get this board going.
    Details:
    500GB WD Caviar WD5000AAKS
    500GB Maxtor DiamondMax 21
    AMD Athlon X2 BE-2300
    Kingston DDR2 2GB PC6400 KHX6400D2LLK2/2GR
    Antec TruePower Trio 430W
    Sony IDE DVD Drive DRU-170C

Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru

Default Re: GA-MA78GPM-DS2H 07B STOP error loading xp

Those drives may need to be setup on a different System or DOS for first use, many do. Often disks must be setup for first use, formatted and set Active with a program. Here is the tools for your disks to do this with. You want Data Lifeguard tools 11.2 Not diagnostics. Choose For DOS or Windows on another PC, then run it and choose "Setup disk for first Use", and choose Operating system not storage. >>>
    WD Support > Downloads > SATA Hard Drives > WD Caviar Blue / SE / SE16 (SATA II)

Guide >>