Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on ep45-ds4p 8800GT 512 mb

Default Question on ep45-ds4p 8800GT 512 mb

Hi,

This is my first post and I am a complete noob to computer construction (and windows systems in general, I have always been a Mac person ).

Last night I got my first build up and running and everything seems to work flawlessly except the video card. It works fine until I try to install the drivers for the card and then I get nothing but a black screen after the loading windows screen. I downloaded and installed the newest drivers from BFG and still nothing. I have to shut it down and reboot in safe mode to uninstall the drivers to get any picture back on the monitor.

From reading on here it sounds like I probably need to update the BIOS on the mobo. I guess I was wondering whether you all think this is the right thing to do and if so what version of the BIOS should I upgrade to (is the newest always best?). I'm kinda nervous about doing this because I haven't really done anything like this before and I don't wanna wreck anything (I did read the flashing BIOS sticky so I guess I feel a little better). If there is anything else you think that could be causing this issue please let me know! Thanks in advance for your help!

Here are the specs, let me know if I am forgetting anything:

Mobo: ep45-ds4p
    cpu: Core2duo @ 3.16ghz
    memory: 8gb of OCZ Platinum OCZ2P10664GK
    Graphics: BFG oc 8800gt
    PSU: PC P&P 610W PSU

Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru

Default Re: Question on ep45-ds4p 8800GT 512 mb

Well, your BIOS is likely pretty up to date as these boards just came out not too awful long ago, but here is my write up on this which I see you have read (So just for future readers)>>>
    http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/bios...h-guide-27576/

And no newest does not always mean better.