Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: DS3R vs DS4 vs DQ6 regarding oc and performance

Default DS3R vs DS4 vs DQ6 regarding oc and performance

First of all: I am glad, that I found this forum (referred from another forum)! Thank you. I hope it is OK to post here about what to buy?

I am in Europe, 55 years old, have had more than 10 PC's since 1982. My PC is from 2003 and I have not read about hardware the last 5 years!!

I am new to overclocking, like to learn about it, but I use my PC ordinary, not heavy tasks like video-editing, Photoshop etc. Hardest jobs are probably burning DVD's, converting video and audio files - but rarely.

I just like a fast PC. So far I have read on tomshardware.com, overclockersclub.com, motherboards.org, xbitlabs.com about motherboards and cpu.

CPU: It seems, that I can do fine with E8400, E8500 or E8600

I have read so much positive about Gigabyte mobos, that I have decided for one, but which one. I have read this:

Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R (R=Raid): (sept. 2008) overclockersclub.com: for those, who do not need many features. Very good. bit-tech.net recommends. XBITLABS.COM: fine. Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3 failed to overclock a dual-core processors, though coped fine with quad-core CPU overclocking.
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS4: just as good as DQ6 regarding OC?
    Gigabyte EP-45 Extreme: overclockersclub.com: Overall, I would have to say that the limited edition Gigabyte EP-45 Extreme is the best motherboard that I've ever used for overclocking. Entusiast mobo. OC'er a little bit better than DQ6
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6: (top model) XbitLabs.com (oct. 2008): Editorís Choice title as the best OC platform. motherboards.org: Editors Choice sept. 2008

My question is: As a newbie in overclocking, compared to DS3R, what do I get with DS4 or DS5 or DQ6?
    And should it be X48 or EP45 chipset or another?

/Michael, Denmark