Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: 1st new build, recomendations please

Default 1st new build, recomendations please

Hi guy`s, I`m a newbie here and I`d like a few recomendations for my first PC build.

I have a few parts already and I`m looking for some advice for the the rest of the build

I have a EP45-DS3L which was on offer, cheaper than the EP35C-DS3R that I was looking at, but didn`t realise how much different the bios was so now I`m so glad I found this forum.

This is going in a NZXT hush case with a Coolermaster iGreen 600W PSU.

CPU wiil probably be a Intel E8500 but I may go for a Q6600 depending on price.
    CPU cooler will be Thermalright 120 extreme, but which fan?
    HDD will be a Samsung spinpoint F1 500 GB
    OS will be XP home SP3

Memory is undecided but Mushkin seem`s to be the choice for Gigabyte boards but it`s not easy to come by here in the UK
    , but I have seen some 2GB HP2-6400 996576 at a reasonable price. Is it any good and why is Mushkin favoured for Gigabyte boards? As for shipping from the USA, postage alone costs about the same as a 1GB stick so it`s not worth it.

Undecided on a graphics card too but I`m not into the latest games it`s no big deal.

Can`t think of anything else at the moment so any recomendations would be welcome

Thanks in advance

Default Re: 1st new build, recomendations please

If you are going to overclock the 6600 this is a nice quiet fan that moves a lot of air - just make sure you can pull as much air out of the case! :)

ENERMAX UC-MA12 120mm Case Fan

Scythe makes some nice quiet case fans too. Any of them will clip on the Thermalright 120 Extreme