Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gigabyte RAID controller issue on GA-X48-DS5

Default Gigabyte RAID controller issue on GA-X48-DS5

I am running 8 internal drives on my new GA-X48-DS5 and overall everthing seems to be fine except for following issue.

I am running RAID 0 configuration on Gigabyte controller using two 300GB Velociraptors. I am a video editor and this is my scratch drive, which means this is where I store video files that are currently being edited. These files usually are a total of 120GB or more in size.

My issue is that video files do not behave as they should running off of this drive. When running from another drive that resides on the Intel controller everything is fine. But no so with the Gigabyte controller. This issue was present with both the original driver and the updated one.

Playback from the Gigabyte controller is sporadic and seems to stutter sometimes.

Solutions I've tried include: Reformatting the drives. Updating controller drivers. Deleting raid configuration in the bios, reformatting drives and reinstalling the raid configuration from scratch.

I have tried running these drives in RAID 0 from the Intel controller and they are fine. The reason I don't want to leave them there may be wrong, but I don't know. My reasoning is that I assume it is best to use an independent controller for the RAID drives for performance reasons. For example I routinely transfer large files (100GB or more) between the raid drive and the other Intel controlled drives and thought it would run less efficiently if this transfer was being done with a single controller.

Any thoughts?

Default Re: Gigabyte RAID controller issue on GA-X48-DS5