Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: GA-EP35-DS3L won't boot after adding Flash Card Reader

Default GA-EP35-DS3L won't boot after adding Flash Card Reader

Greetings - am seeking suggestions...

I built a desktop using a GA-EP35-DS3L (Rev 1.0) bought from newegg 5 mos ago, with a Core 2 Duo E8400 and Win Xp Pro that is fanatically maintained to be current. I don't know what BIOS version I have but I never messed with the one that shipped with the board under the general "if the BIOS works don't f*** with it" rule of thumb. Everything has been working just great with this machine; all components seem to be working together well. This is the 3rd or 4th desktop I've built from parts so I'm no expert but know the basics of what I'm doing.

I have bought and tried to install three separate internal flash memory (all-in-one style camera card) readers and none have worked. These all plug into one of the three USB headers on the edge of the mobo. The first one wasn't recognized in any way, no matter which of the three USB headers I tried. The second was intermittently (rarely) recognized by Xp; any attempt to actually read or write to, example, a CF card resulted in a hung system (windows explorer). Admittedly, the first two readers were cheap and got tossed. The third try was a more expensive and capable device, an nMEDIAPC ZE-C138 5.25"All-in-one USB X 3 / IEEE 1394 / eSATA / HD (or AC97) Audio Internal Card Reader, N82E16820132022 at newegg. While this device has five cables to attach to the mobo, I first tried only the two USB cables just to see if it would work at a minimum level.

It won't boot. I get all the way to the "Boot from CD/DVD" line, which is my first choice in boot disk order, and then nothing happens - it just hangs. When I disconnect the card reader's two USB cables, it goes back to working just swell.

Any suggestions?