Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: GA-EP45-DS3L Standby Problems

Default GA-EP45-DS3L Standby Problems (and more!)

Hey, folks. I'm kinda new at building systems, so perhaps I guess I should expect that things wouldn't be perfect the first time around. This might turn into kindof a long message, because I've got a lot of little questions. Thanks in advance if you get through it. I have no intention to overclock, at this time. I just want to get this machine humming at stock, for now.

Here's my system:
    GA-EP45-DS3L (bios F9)
    Intel Q8200 Quad Core 2.33Ghz
    Geforce 9800GT 512MB
    Corsair VX550W power supply
    Patriot Extreme Performance PC2-6400 2x2GB, 800MHz
    Windows XP SP3

The main problem that I'm posting about is that I can't go into standby with this system. Almost any time I try to enter standby mode, the system will restart itself a few seconds later (anywhere from 1-5 seconds) - at which point I can resume where I left off. No data's lost, but I can't standby, either. Very occasionally it will shut down properly... though it seems different from the standby I'm used to.

Sometimes it's worse, though, instead of restarting itself and staying on, it will shut itself down again after another few seconds. Then restart itself, and shut itself down... endlessly. The only way to get out of the cycle is to shut off the PSU and do a hard boot. It generally works fine again after that.

The Gigabyte tech support person who's been helping me out has been... well, not very helpful, unfortunately. Poor english and worse sentence structure. I've also been consulting with tech support from the place I got the parts (NCIX).