Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: CPU phase LED issue, please help!

Default CPU phase LED issue, please help!

please help, this is my first build and im unsure about the safety of my newly purchased hardware..

just put together the following build:

MB: GA-EP45-DS4P
    CPU: C2D E8400 (stock cooling)
    GPU: MSI R4870 512mb
    RAM: Kingston DDR2 2x2GB 800
    HDD1: Samsung SATA 3.5" 500GB
    Burner: Pioneer SATA DVR-216
    PSU: Antec Neopower 650w Blue
    Case: iCute S901 5G1

it turns on & will enter bios, seems to be running fine, all fans are running, im just concerned however, that it seems it might be stressing the CPU out for some reason as over the first 60 seconds of being on, the fans seem to be constantly accelerating, & the phase LEDs are always showing full CPU load. is this fine, or a warning sign that something is wrong?

the tweaker menu in the bios says its running by default at x8 multiplier & 2.66GHz, but thats not what the E8400 specs are supposed to be at all..

the PSU fan LED is on & red because nothings connected to that socket (doesnt seem to need to be as the PSU fan runs anyway & there is no 3pin fan wire from the PSU.)

does it seem like im doing something wrong with the hardware so far?
    am i at risk of destroying the CPU if the phase LED's show its at full load even though all ive done is enter the bios so far?
    does the CPU load mean how hard its working, or how hot its running?
    should i let it run longer than a minute or two?
    should i change the bios to meet the proper CPU/RAM specs?
    should i ignore the phase LED & go ahead & install an OS?

thanks for your help, eager to get it running.
    Last edited by hejira; 01-06-2009 at 12:00 AM.

Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru

Default Re: CPU phase LED issue, please help!