Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gigabyte Ep45-UD3P SATA/IDE Bios Configuration for Windows XP x64

Question Gigabyte Ep45-UD3P SATA/IDE Bios Configuration for Windows XP x64

Hi all,

I am new to the gigabyte motherboard world (previously a long time abit user RIP). Here are my current specs:

Gigabyte Ep45-UD3P Motherboard
    Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300
    8gb PC2-8500 (DDR2-1066) OCZ Reaper Memory
    500gb Seagate SATA Hard Drive (plugged into yellow sata on board not purple)
    20x LG SATA Dvd Burner
    Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Sound Card

Ok now here is my question In the bios I have a few options that deal with sata and ahci. I installed windows xp x64 in the default states but now that everything is installed I thought I would change all my bios settings and enable AHCI because I have read that is more advances the traditional IDE mode etc. When I enable the settings in the bios and reboot I see the XP logo and boom it crashes and reboots. A few days ago I also installed Vista 64 and it worked fine with the AHCI options etc from what I recall but not the same case with XPx64.

Here are the options I have tried turning on in different combinations without any luck:
    SATA RAID/AHCI Mode: AHCI
    SATA Port0-3 Native Mode: Enabled
    Onboard SATA/IDE Device: Enabled
    Onboard SATA/IDE Ctrl Mode: AHCI

Could someone shed some light?

Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru

Default Re: Gigabyte Ep45-UD3P SATA/IDE Bios Configuration for Windows XP x64

You need to do a clean install using the AHCI Drivers or try this method, which is more involved and experimental >>>
    The compiled FAQ & guide thread. - MSFN Forums

Enabling AHCI after Windows install - XtremeSystems Forums

HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows - PC Perspective Forums

As for your settings >>>>