Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Newbie with a few questions.

Default Newbie with a few questions.

Hello,

Sorry if this sounds repetitive to all you experienced computer gurus out there but being that I am a complete newbie (only took me 43 years to get here) I need some of your experienced advice.

I received all my parts to build my computer:
    i7-920 with a x58-udr3 motherboard, patriot viper 4 gb ram, 2 wd black HDDs, samsung DVD, sapphire 4850 video card and a D-link network card.

I have read all the way through the motherboards user manual. I then ran across this site concerning not using @BIOS.

I am not a hardcore gamer nor do I want to overclock, just simply use the computer for everything else.

My question is, do you have a list of items I should be aware of before I follow the users manual to install my BIOS?

At first I was very hestitant on building my first PC simply because of having to go into and set BIOS functions. Since I have read through the manual it all seems quite simple as long as you use the default settings and if that is all you suggest then thats good enough for me. I was just currious and wanted to make sure there was nothing else I should do before I complete the installation of my BIOS. Oh, and as for having 2 HDDs, I was going to put Windows XP Pro and system folders on the smaller HDD and all the rest of my crap on the other. I dont think I need to set them up in a RAID or do I?

Thanks for reading.

Default Re: Newbie with a few questions.