Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: EP45-DS3 and HYPERX 6400d2k2/g4 OC problem

Default EP45-DS3 and HYPERX 6400d2k2/g4 OC problem

Hey hi hello, as this is my first post here :D

I've got an issue with my RIG.I got it For christmas, and right now I'd really like to O/C it. It consists of EP45-DS3 mobo, Intel E5200, Kingston HyperX 6400d2k2/g4 and an OCZ 600W PSU (the rest doesn't matter, I think).

This is not my first PC, and I'm not new to O/c, either. Recently I bought a NH-U12P Noctua Air Cooler for my E5200 and because of that I'd like to do a little bit of O/C than I did before (3,06 GHz on E5200 with stock cooler). I entered a little bit higher FSB, pushed the Vcore to 1,38 (as my mobo gives -0,04V the value in BIOS) and... nothing.

I started playing with the settings - tried everything, but nothing worked. Tried an FSB change (tried all 4 options that the FSB multipliers correspond to in the BIOS), bumped the Vram to even 2,1V and still nothing. The DRAMs were in 1 and 3 slots, now they are in 2 and 4 (I thought that might work, but didn't). Of course all that crappy Intel Power Save (M1E, E1ST or whatever it is - both options) are off.

My dream is to achieve something around 3,6-3,8 GHz and I really, REALLY need help :D

Beh0lder

Chucko is offline Member

Default Re: EP45-DS3 and HYPERX 6400d2k2/g4 OC problem

What are your current FSB and memory speeds?

I have not (yet) had much luck getting my EP45-DS3R above 800MHz DRAM clock, even with two different brands of 1066MHz rated RAM. This board doesn't seem to like to go fast with 2GB RAM sticks. I hope to get it sorted out eventually.

For now I suggest you back off to 800MHz or lower, with tighter timings as appropriate, if your FSB isn't above 400 MHz. If it is... I don't have an answer for you yet. Others might.