Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me




  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickel020 View Post
    Have a look at the RAM timings sticky in this forum and manually st all the timings (excpet the advanced tRead values).

    You have some of the worst 1066 RAM out there, normaly timings are 5-5-5-15 on good 1066 RAM. So maybe timings settings on auto are an issue. What was your "performance enhance" set to btw?

    Also try to run the RAM at 800 and see if that works (change system meory multiplier to 2.0D).
    i set timing as the kingston said and i know the lower timing = more faster
    and btw its worth more than 5-5-5-15 model so i take it

    performance enhance is Standard
    CPU:Intel I7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
    M.B:GA-x58A-Ud3R
    DisPlay: GA-GTX 260
    Memory: HyperX 3x4GB
    DiskDrive:W.D 1T, W.D 160G
    P.W: HEC 750 W

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    Timings dont matter much, a few percent at most. In fact I would just set the ram to DDR2 800 5-5-5-18 and if it's stable leave it there.
    Take a look at this post:
    http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/p35c...tml#post283361
    There I explained why faster RAM is unnecessary. Anything other than the 2.0 multiplier does not really bring added performance.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    good point
    but why my 7-7-7-20 expensive than 5-5-5-15 model :S
    anyway i triad this
    Standard Timing Control
    (G)MCH Frequency Latch....................: [400]
    System Memory Multiplier ..................: [2.66D]
    DRAM Timing Selectable ..................: [AUTO] tried [Manual] boot failer
    and its booting @ 3.6 but failer to start windows and showing me blue screen
    jumping from problem to other
    CPU:Intel I7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
    M.B:GA-x58A-Ud3R
    DisPlay: GA-GTX 260
    Memory: HyperX 3x4GB
    DiskDrive:W.D 1T, W.D 160G
    P.W: HEC 750 W

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    Dead end
    CPU:Intel I7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
    M.B:GA-x58A-Ud3R
    DisPlay: GA-GTX 260
    Memory: HyperX 3x4GB
    DiskDrive:W.D 1T, W.D 160G
    P.W: HEC 750 W

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    Quote Originally Posted by kovaxo View Post
    good point
    but why my 7-7-7-20 expensive than 5-5-5-15 model :S
    anyway i triad this
    Standard Timing Control
    (G)MCH Frequency Latch....................: [400]
    System Memory Multiplier ..................: [2.66D]
    DRAM Timing Selectable ..................: [AUTO] tried [Manual] boot failer
    and its booting @ 3.6 but failer to start windows and showing me blue screen
    jumping from problem to other
    At what FSB was the CPU runnign with these memory settings?

    If it was 400 try the 2.0D multiplier just to see if it works and we'll continue from there. If that works I know it's purely a RAM issue and it's easier to tell you what to do next.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickel020 View Post
    At what FSB was the CPU runnign with these memory settings?

    If it was 400 try the 2.0D multiplier just to see if it works and we'll continue from there. If that works I know it's purely a RAM issue and it's easier to tell you what to do next.
    i did and multiplier 2.00D or 2.66D both work
    but failed to enter windows (blue screen)
    CPU:Intel I7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
    M.B:GA-x58A-Ud3R
    DisPlay: GA-GTX 260
    Memory: HyperX 3x4GB
    DiskDrive:W.D 1T, W.D 160G
    P.W: HEC 750 W

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    see GA-EP31-DS3L overclocking without any problem



    btw i dont think it RAMs problem beccasue i overclocked it without any problem and the system was stable
    CPU:Intel I7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
    M.B:GA-x58A-Ud3R
    DisPlay: GA-GTX 260
    Memory: HyperX 3x4GB
    DiskDrive:W.D 1T, W.D 160G
    P.W: HEC 750 W

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    That last setting at 3.2GHz and 569 MHz is stable while the setting in the fist screenshot is not?
    It can still be the RAM, as Auto settings cann apply weird timings sometimes that causes it to be unstable. But they apply correct timtings a lower CPU speed when the RAM is clocked higher (sometimes).

    Please post pictures of your BIOS screen including all of the settings I told you to change!

    This may also be caused by your power supply, what modell is it exactly? When you overclock the CPU needs a stabler voltage supply than at stock speeds or lower overclocks. So while your PSU might be OK for a "low" overclock, it may not be good enough for a higher one.
    Last edited by Nickel020; 02-13-2009 at 04:39 PM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickel020 View Post
    That last setting at 3.2GHz and 569 MHz is stable while the setting in the fist screenshot is not?
    It can still be the RAM, as Auto settings cann apply weird timings sometimes that causes it to be unstable. But they apply correct timtings a lower CPU speed when the RAM is clocked higher (sometimes).

    Please post pictures of your BIOS screen including all of the settings I told you to change!

    This may also be caused by your power supply, what modell is it exactly? When you overclock the CPU needs a stabler voltage supply than at stock speeds or lower overclocks. So while your PSU might be OK for a "low" overclock, it may not be good enough for a higher one.
    when i had P31 i overclocked it by
    different RAMs (valueram) and it was stabble
    and this the power subbly
    Newegg.com - hec ZEPHYR HEC-750DR-AT 750W Continuous @ 40°C ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.91 SLI NVIDIA SLI Certified NVIDIA HYBRID-SLI Certified - 9800 GX2 CrossFire Certified Active PFC HYBRID-SLI Power Supply - Power Supplies
    the motherboard
    Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS4P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
    Rams
    Newegg.com - Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
    CPU:Intel I7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
    M.B:GA-x58A-Ud3R
    DisPlay: GA-GTX 260
    Memory: HyperX 3x4GB
    DiskDrive:W.D 1T, W.D 160G
    P.W: HEC 750 W

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: OverClocking Q6600 in GA-EP45-DS4P F8 Guide Me

    i started to think that bios need to be updated via GIGABYTE
    Last edited by kovaxo; 02-14-2009 at 12:09 AM.
    CPU:Intel I7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
    M.B:GA-x58A-Ud3R
    DisPlay: GA-GTX 260
    Memory: HyperX 3x4GB
    DiskDrive:W.D 1T, W.D 160G
    P.W: HEC 750 W

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •