Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings.




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings.

    <dl class="prodDesc"><dd></dd><dd></dd><dd></dd><dd></dd><dd></dd><dd>I need stable settings for my system. It currently crashes randomly, and I have tried lots of different settings on this site for this hardware.
    </dd></dl>I have updated to the latest bios, tried lots of different timing and voltage settings.

    The board will not boot more than 1 in 3 times. Sometimes it will boot loop, sometimes it will BSOD, sometimes it will get into windows, I can play a game for about 15 minutes, then it starts throwing artifacts in the graphics, and then crashes.

    Below is the system I have. All I want are stable settings for this board. I do not want to over clock it.
    <dl class="prodDesc"><dd></dd><dd>
    </dd><dd></dd><dd>
    </dd><dd>

    </dd><dd></dd><dd>

    </dd><dd>

    </dd><dd></dd></dl>

  2. #2
    kick's Avatar
    kick is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Europe,the wild wild west.
    Posts
    1,223

    Thumbs up Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    Im suprised to see all the problems with the 45 ud3 mbrds.
    I bought mine purely for overclocking,and with the memory I have ,it seems ive been lucky.

    If you dont want to read thru all my possibly useless speculation,the settings between the icons may be of use.

    Anyway:
    In reviews of the board ,I read that its an idea to take off the chipset heatsinks on the chipsets and replace the proprietary thermal pad with arctic 5 paste or similar.
    Nickel20 suggested this also and it seems to have worked for another poster.
    The reviews also complained that the boards are now coming with "crappy" push pins on the heatsinks.

    I havent done that on mine on the "if it aint broke,dont fix it" principle.
    If everything is seated properly cpu/its heatsink,fan /memory and cards.
    Then I suppose its on to "electronicery"

    The boot loop for me occurs when 1.after a bsod or a bios change and the mbrd wont even post.
    After every bios change that doesnt work or every bios reflash,you are supposed to load optimised defaults in the bios before doing anything else.

    So what does the memory run at when your pc boots up at standard settings?.
    Everything is on auto so cpu is running at 333mhz x9.5?
    and memory runs at?.
    Is performance set to standard turbo or enhanced in the bios?

    My memory is g skill ,not the same type as yours but
    When i initally booted up the mbrd recognised it as 800mhz ok but didnt apply the special performance timings 4-4-4-12 instead of the standard 5-5-5-15 .I had to enter the timings manually.

    After that I just started overclocking away in stages on both the memory and cpu.
    Id actually be nervous about going back to standard settings again now :)

    Enter the recommended settings for your memory manually in the bios and the recommended voltage 2.1 vlt yes?
    Use memset ( a utility u can google it or theres a link somewhere in the bios/memory timings sticky post) to check your timings once you are in windows.
    Dont use the "save" option on memset in windows tho or it will lock in those timings for windows everytime you load it.
    I use speedfan(another utility) to test temperatures etc.
    cpu z is also usefull for vdroop/voltage drop.

    The voltage you set in bios may not actually be applied to the components when the pc is running.
    Speedfan isnt accurate on everything but for me it is on both cpu and memory voltage drop.

    For example if i enter 2.1 volts for the memory in the bios,while running under load it only receives 2.05-2.06 volts.
    Perhaps check your memory when its up and running to see what voltage its receiving.
    If its supposed to be 2.1 and is more like 2.06 you could increase it to 2.15 in bios.
    I had to do a lot of small voltage adjustments like that to get a stable overclock.
    Yes I know ,you dont want to overclock but you do have "performance" memory and ive read some performance memory wont work at all at any speed with regular ddr2 voltage(~1,8v) is what all the dell/compaq/hp stuff will operate on.

    If it still isnt stable you could try running the memory at a lower speed.
    My memory wont work at any speed if i set mch latch speed to 400mhz in bios,I use the 2.0 multiplier for 333mhz.
    So with 490 fsb my memory speed is 980.I have my graphics card memory overclocked to this speed too(it just seems neater).

    I notice on newegg the p45 chipset isnt mentioned for your memory,only the p35.
    From what ive read the major difference between the 2 chipsets is the ability to run a 400mhz (1600 mhz) fsb as standard for like quad extreme cpus.

    Try running your memory at the rated timings,and 2.1 volts set in bios(or maybe a little more if cpu z or speedfan show a voltage drop while running.Use the 333mhz multiplier the 400mhz one may not work.

    Setting 2.3 volts or over for memory in bios is bad,it seems.
    The figures turning red give a clue :0.
    Last edited by kick; 02-18-2009 at 05:56 PM.
    Current Systems:

    Asrock p67 Extreme6.............. Gigabyte EP-45 UD3 ...................... Gigabyte 73 PVM S2
    Intel i5 2500k 4.8ghz................ Intel Q8400 3.8ghz......................... Intel D820 2.8ghz
    Zalman 10x cooler.................... Coolermaster V8............................ HP cooler
    8GB Gskill ripjaw ddr3.............. 4GB Gskill PI ddr2.......................... 4GB samsung ddr2
    60GB ssd/500GB HDD .............. WD 1TB hdd.................................... Seagate 160GB hdd
    GTX 460 1GB x2 SLI ................. Msi 9600GT 512MB(died) ........... Onboard gx
    Win7 64 ,750w psu(ocz)............ Win7 64 ,520w psu,seasonic...... Win XP pro ,400w psu

    HEC 6A34 case . ....................... Jeantec R2 case............................ Packard Bell case

    hoping to upgrade to http://www.thinkgeek.com/stuff/41/habicase.shtml
    http://www.flixya.com/video/140325/Animal-launching

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    The reason why there are "a lot" of problems with this board is because a lot of people have it, it's being recommended by reviewers all over the internet. It's a very good board for sure, I'm getting one as soon as Rev 1.1 become available from my favourite dealer [he pretests for overclocking goodness :) ].

    First thing you should try is run Windows memory diagnostic (boot of the Vista DVD) or Memtest. If that fails you've got bad RAM. Also try each RAM stick individually, if problems only occur when one specific one is isntalled then that one is bad.

    Also more details on your hardware, especially the PSU please.

    Kick has suggested some good stuff, but you should try the basic stuff like checking the RAM itself first.
    Last edited by Nickel020; 02-18-2009 at 06:15 PM.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,183

    Default Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    So what happens when you load optimum defaults in the bios, save and restart?
    Lian Li PC-7F Chassis Black
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 MB (Rev. 1.1 BIOS v.F8c)
    Gigabyte ODIN GT 800Watt PSU
    Intel Core2Quad Q9550 E0 @ 3.4Ghz @ 1.25vcore
    Noctua NH-U12P + AS5
    G.Skill 2X2GB F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
    2 X ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB (Crossfired)
    Dell Ultrasharp 2209WA IPS
    2 X 1TB Seagate 7200.11 in RAID 1
    Pioneer DVR216 SATA DVD MultiDrive
    Windows 7 Ultimate X64 RC1 (Build 7232)
    ------------------------------------------------
    Gigabyte Poseidon Chassis
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3 (Rev. 1.0 BIOS v.F9)
    ASUS Artic Square CPU Cooling with AS5
    Thermaltake TR2 RX 550Watt PSU
    Intel Core2Duo E8500 E0 @ 3.8Ghz @ 1.25vcore
    Corsair 2 X 2Gb XMS2 PC6400C5 DDR2
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT 512MB
    1 X Seagate 1TB 7200.12 + Seagate 750GB 7211.11
    Sony SATA DVD MultiDrive
    Windows 7 Ultimate X64 RC1 (Build 7232)
    ------------------------------------------------

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,183

    Default Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    As Nickel020 Stated do the ram thing with memtest 86+ V2.11 and see how that goes with a few passes. It does look a little like bad ram!
    Lian Li PC-7F Chassis Black
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 MB (Rev. 1.1 BIOS v.F8c)
    Gigabyte ODIN GT 800Watt PSU
    Intel Core2Quad Q9550 E0 @ 3.4Ghz @ 1.25vcore
    Noctua NH-U12P + AS5
    G.Skill 2X2GB F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
    2 X ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB (Crossfired)
    Dell Ultrasharp 2209WA IPS
    2 X 1TB Seagate 7200.11 in RAID 1
    Pioneer DVR216 SATA DVD MultiDrive
    Windows 7 Ultimate X64 RC1 (Build 7232)
    ------------------------------------------------
    Gigabyte Poseidon Chassis
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3 (Rev. 1.0 BIOS v.F9)
    ASUS Artic Square CPU Cooling with AS5
    Thermaltake TR2 RX 550Watt PSU
    Intel Core2Duo E8500 E0 @ 3.8Ghz @ 1.25vcore
    Corsair 2 X 2Gb XMS2 PC6400C5 DDR2
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT 512MB
    1 X Seagate 1TB 7200.12 + Seagate 750GB 7211.11
    Sony SATA DVD MultiDrive
    Windows 7 Ultimate X64 RC1 (Build 7232)
    ------------------------------------------------

  6. #6
    kick's Avatar
    kick is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Europe,the wild wild west.
    Posts
    1,223

    Default Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    Some other thoughts:
    My memory 6400 black pi gskill has been reported to be able to run at 1066mhz at 2.2 v overclocked.
    I found a review of the memory a few weeks ago in which they used a 45 ud3 board a p i think and they were unable to get more than 1015 mhz from the memory.
    That has been my experience too.No biggie since its only rated 800mhz,still.
    No one else posting here seems to have any specific ideas or information on this.
    Probably because no one else is using my particular combination of components.
    The closer a posters system is to yours the more likely iy is you will find some usefull information.
    I hope there isnt some problem with g skill memory in general on these boards at over 1000mhz.
    It doesnt matter too much to me because my cpu wouldnt clock up a lot more without running into v high temps,but if I hadnt seen that article I might still be trying to get 1066 on my memory.
    Perhaps google your memory type and mbrd together to see if you get any other links aside from these forums.

    The problem may not be memory even but hey,cant hurt.
    Current Systems:

    Asrock p67 Extreme6.............. Gigabyte EP-45 UD3 ...................... Gigabyte 73 PVM S2
    Intel i5 2500k 4.8ghz................ Intel Q8400 3.8ghz......................... Intel D820 2.8ghz
    Zalman 10x cooler.................... Coolermaster V8............................ HP cooler
    8GB Gskill ripjaw ddr3.............. 4GB Gskill PI ddr2.......................... 4GB samsung ddr2
    60GB ssd/500GB HDD .............. WD 1TB hdd.................................... Seagate 160GB hdd
    GTX 460 1GB x2 SLI ................. Msi 9600GT 512MB(died) ........... Onboard gx
    Win7 64 ,750w psu(ocz)............ Win7 64 ,520w psu,seasonic...... Win XP pro ,400w psu

    HEC 6A34 case . ....................... Jeantec R2 case............................ Packard Bell case

    hoping to upgrade to http://www.thinkgeek.com/stuff/41/habicase.shtml
    http://www.flixya.com/video/140325/Animal-launching

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    Kick, every RAM kit overclocks differently. While one guy got lucky and may run his RAM that high, that does not mean that every kit should run that high. So this must not necessarily have something to do with the board itself (although some boards sometimes overlock RAM better than others).
    The board can definitely run RAM at 1066 and much higher, just look at the contest sticky thread with the 1508 MHz CPU-Z validation!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Newport Beach, California
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    I am running same cpu and memorychip set the voltage at 2.0 helped me. PM for my setting. I get in the red zone at 2.1 v
    Gigabyte EP45-UD3R P45 775 R (rev: 1.1),
    Intel Core2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale @ 3.80 GHz (EO),
    4 X 2GB DDR2-1066 G.SKILL PC8500CL5D
    SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770
    Intel X25-M SATA SSD 80 GB
    LG DVD+R 6X Blu-ray SATA Burner MD-GGW-H2OL
    CREATIVE SB X-Fi XTREME Audio 7.1 PCI-E
    Cooler Master Stacker 830 EVO
    Cooler Master Silent Pro M850
    XIGMATEK HDT-S1284EE 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
    ZALMAN ZM-MFC3 Fan controller
    Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition 64-bit

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs up Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    Quote Originally Posted by kick View Post
    After every bios change that doesnt work or every bios reflash,you are supposed to load optimised defaults in the bios before doing anything else.
    I have done this.
    Quote Originally Posted by kick View Post

    So what does the memory run at when your pc boots up at standard settings?.
    Everything is on auto so cpu is running at 333mhz x9.5?
    and memory runs at?.
    Is performance set to standard turbo or enhanced in the bios?
    It boots up at 333x9.5
    The memory runs at 1066, set to turbo

    Quote Originally Posted by kick View Post

    Enter the recommended settings for your memory manually in the bios and the recommended voltage 2.1 vlt yes?
    I've done this, the ram voltage is recommended and set to 2.1

    Quote Originally Posted by kick View Post

    Use memset ( a utility u can google it or theres a link somewhere in the bios/memory timings sticky post) to check your timings once you are in windows.

    cas 5
    ras r5
    ras w5
    ras p 5
    pre 15

    all pre ....................6
    refresh cycle .........68
    performance level ....6
    write to precharge ..21
    write to read..........12
    act to act delay........4
    read to write delay.....9
    read to pre...............6
    all pre to refresh........6
    refresh period..........4160
    command rate...........2T



    Quote Originally Posted by kick View Post
    Try running your memory at the rated timings,and 2.1 volts set in bios(or maybe a little more if cpu z or speedfan show a voltage drop while running.Use the 333mhz multiplier the 400mhz one may not work.

    Setting 2.3 volts or over for memory in bios is bad,it seems.
    The figures turning red give a clue :0.

    I've tried speedfan. It seems to indicate that the Vcore2: 2.10V is set correctly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: GA-EP45-UP3P + C2D E8500 + G.SKILL 2x2gb F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK - need stable settings

    Quote Originally Posted by NimrodAUS View Post
    So what happens when you load optimum defaults in the bios, save and restart?

    I did this, it booted. I started up TF2, and played for about 10 minutes before it crashes.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •