Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Overclocking EP45-DS3R + Q6600 + 8GB

Default Overclocking EP45-DS3R + Q6600 + 8GB

I have been searching relentlessly throughout a ton of forums for more information regarding bios setting and whatnot for an overclock with 8GB. Of course the prevailing wisdom says "use 4GB, or 2 sticks in general". Here are my specs:

Q6600 G0 stepping
    GA-EP45-DS3R
    Silverstone 500W with only 4-pin 12V cpu plug, could get 2xmolex to 8-pin if needed.
    8GB (4 * 2GB) A-data (4-4-4-12)
    Link to ram: Newegg.com - A-DATA Vitesta 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I have been running this system for about 4 months now. I had problems from day one, then after about a week I realized I needed to bump ram voltage to 1.9V to stop the boot loops and random restarts. Well everything was not so well lately. I bought the system with overclocking in mind, but figured I would give it some time before I did an OC. Here I am 4 months later and bug got me. I broke out memtest and failed miserably. I moved to testing pairs of sticks for 6-8 hours each and they passed. I put all 4 back in and decided to bump up to 2.0v on the ram and surprise...now at 10 hours and 6 passes I have no errors. Just to be sure I am gonna run it the rest of the weekend.