Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: GA-MA790X-UD4P will not POST

Default GA-MA790X-UD4P will not POST

Hello first time here but not a first time system builder, i am by no means a pro nor is this my vocation/job but i have built at least a dozen systems for myself and family.
    This is my first Gigabyte motherboard.
    I was impressed by the specs and the backwards and forwards compatibility for AMD cpu support so i ordered one last week.
    It arrived a few days later and yesterday when i put it together with the suggested ram (G.Skill) and supported CPU, etc it didn't even post upon switching on the only indication i could get that something was wrong was that the hdd led light on the case steadily blinked but i know the hd is good .

Whats in the case.
    Western Digital Green 750gb SATA drive
    LG SATA Dvd Burner
    G.Skill 4gb Dual Channel PC2-8500
    Nvidia 9800GT 512MB PCI Xpress/Nvidia 8600GT 512mb PCI Xpress
    Rosewell 630W PSU
    Athlon AMD X2 6000 3100ghz

I first removed everything except the basics after that error, so all i had upon the next boot was 1 stick of ram (2gb) 1 video card (8600gt) and the harddrive alone, still the same error.
    Checked that all the connections were working for the PSU, case fans, cpu fan , dvd drive all power up, the dvd drive even spins when a disc is put in worked in another system i have, switched out the psu , put it in another case it booted fine so its not the PSU, i can't test the ram as i don't have a testing kit or a system that supports that type but it, the motherboard and SATA dvd burner were bought at the sametime at the same place (newegg) together upon recommendation by the site as well as checking gigabyte's to see if the board supported that memory module according to the ram chart it does.