Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: My first build:UDR3/Q9550 what now?

Default My first build:UD3R/Q9550 what now?

Hi folks. I just joined, and I'm a complete noob. I just put the rig together and turned it on, and it seems like everything is working just fine: I'm THRILLED (esp. after seeing so many people having problems with ram etc.).
    But... What should I do now? I can't really find any info. Do I do a burn-in, mem-test, stress-test? What bios settings should I have to safe-guard the rig? I turned on the CPU fan-fail warning and the cpu warning temp (70c). Right now the cores are 30, 34,34,38.
    I installed cpuid and speedfan, are there other utils that are necessary/helpful?
    I know this is a lot of questions, but I've been researching and most "Building a PC" threads end with plugging in power cables.
    Here are the specs:

Gigabyte GA_EP45-UD3R P45 775r
    Intel Q9550 @2.83 (e0)
    msi GTX260+ OCV2 (216 cores)
    GSkill 2Gx2 f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk
    Asus arctic square cooler w/arctic silver 5 thermal paste
    windows XP sp3
    WD 640g HD
    Rosewill 600watt PSU

Thanks in adavance for any help!
    Last edited by climber; 04-16-2009 at 01:16 PM.

Default Re: My first build:UDR3/Q9550 what now?

Also I'm running f5 bios. Should I flash 7? or only if I'm having problems. I know I'm asking a lot... If any of this is on a thread or sticky somewhere, please post a link.
    Thanks again.

Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru

I always run the latest Final BIOS or the latest Beta. Or a favorite I have, but since you just built then you do not have a "Favorite" yet so I suggest the latest Final or Beta up to you.

I do suggest you do not use @BIOS to flash, use Qflash. Here is a guide on that I wrote up >>>
    http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/bios...h-guide-27576/

Here are your final BIOS's (F8) >>>