Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: About to install RAID on UD3P, quick checklist

Default About to install RAID on UD3P, quick checklist

Okay, I've never tried to RAID hard drives before, but I want to try it out.

I've backed up all my data on an external HD. I'm using the Gigabyte EP45-UD3P. 2 WD CB 500's. Vista 64.

From what I've read:

I need to download the Intel ICH9R/ICH10R SATA RAID Driver from Gigabyte's website. Save it to a USB drive (don't need floppy b/c of Vista, I think).

Switch to RAID option in BIOS. Restart, hit cntrl + I when prompted. Tell it Raid 0, reboot.

Insert Vista Install Disk. When prompted, tell it to load drivers. Point it to USB Intel ICH10R driver. Proceed with install as normal.

Do I have everything right? I don't want to start this only to figure out I've screwed something up. I've read a lot of topics and I think I've got it all, like i said I just want to make sure.

Thanks.
    GA-EP45-UD3P Rev. 1.0 bios F6
    Intel C2D E8400 @ 3Ghz (333x9)
    G-Skill 2x2 GB DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
    WD Caviar Black 500GB
    Asus Radeon HD 4850
    OCZ600SXS PSU
    NZXT Guardian 921

Default Re: About to install RAID on UD3P, quick checklist

Yeah You pretty much have everything ready to go.
    Lian Li PC-7F Chassis Black
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 MB (Rev. 1.1 BIOS v.F8c)
    Gigabyte ODIN GT 800Watt PSU
    Intel Core2Quad Q9550 E0 @ 3.4Ghz @ 1.25vcore
    Noctua NH-U12P + AS5
    G.Skill 2X2GB F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
    2 X ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB (Crossfired)
    Dell Ultrasharp 2209WA IPS
    2 X 1TB Seagate 7200.11 in RAID 1
    Pioneer DVR216 SATA DVD MultiDrive
    Windows 7 Ultimate X64 RC1 (Build 7232)
    ------------------------------------------------
    Gigabyte Poseidon Chassis
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3 (Rev. 1.0 BIOS v.F9)
    ASUS Artic Square CPU Cooling with AS5
    Thermaltake TR2 RX 550Watt PSU