Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P Overclocking Help (Not a Repeat)

Default Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P Overclocking Help (Not a Repeat)

Got something for someone if you got time..

I am a Professional PC Technician -- and I'm just delving into overclocking now. I'm having a bit of difficulty doing so.

First, here are the specs:
    Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P Intel LGA 1366
    CPU - Intel Core i7 Nehalem 2.66 GHz LGA 1366 Quad Core
    Heatsink / Fan - Vigor Monsoon III LT Dual 120mm Fan Socket 1366
    RAM - 12 GB G.Skill DDR3 - TRI-SLI x2
    HD - 2 Western Digital 500 GB BLACK Edition Hard Drives - RAID 0 (Stripe)
    GFX Card - HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 1 GB DDR5 256-bit (Crossfire Supported)
    Power Supply - Apevia Iceberg ATX 680W with Triple Color LED lights

Okay... Now, I've referred to the two posts - The one with settings to overclock to 3.6 and the other post that overclocks to 3.5 with Turbo Boost on. Neither of these settings work. In any case, I really didn't want to go that high, to be honest.

I would like to do a slight OC to about 3.2-3.4 GHz. Nothing amazing. I currently set up my system to BIOS defaults and was wondering if someone could tell me what I need to change in the BIOS to reach my goal of 3.2 - 3.4.

If you could also explain which numbers to change to play around with lower settings or higher settings, that would be appreciated too. I am trying to grasp the idea of overclocking with these new CPUs, but I haven't really found the right guide to really explain things in a way I will understand.

I'm really trying though.

Thank you in advance. I'm hoping to hear from someone soon.

Chris

Default Re: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P Overclocking Help (Not a Repeat)

Hey