Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: EP43-DS3 cannot run in dual channel

Unhappy EP43-DS3 cannot run in dual channel

Hi all,

This is my first time building a computer. It is an EP43-DS3 motherboard, with an Intel Core2duoE, Geforce GTX260 factory overclock and 2x2GB corsair XMS2 DDR2.
    I get blue screens when trying to boot up in dual channel, I have had some luck in single channel with both modules but it is still unstable when using intense applications like games. Using just one stick works. I have tried it in 2-4 instead of 1-3 and this offered slightly more stability for some reason, but I would still get blue screens during, again, intense applications.

The BIOS settings are their factory default, except for the 4 timings which have been set to those on the RAM sticker and the DRAM Voltage which has been set to 2.1v (which is on the sticker). I had already sent the RAM back thinking it was faulty RAM but I am getting the same problem with the new RAM as well.
    The bios is p7 which is what it was out of the box.

What do I need to change on the BIOS to get this thing stable/usable, or is it just a dodgy motherboard?

Thanks

Chike is offline Senior Member

Default Re: EP43-DS3 cannot run in dual channel

Normally more MCH Core is needed for 2x2GB memory (I myself use 1.2v for only 1x2GB).
    Load optimized defaults first, set Performance enhance to standard, and leave all settings on their default values.
    Try increasing MCH Core, 1.2-1.26v should get you stable if the board or memory are not faulty.
    Run several memtest86+ (can be found in the programs sticky) passes, then see if windows is still unstable.
    For more reliable stability test use Prime95 blend test for 6+ hours.