Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: EP43-DS3 based system unstable with 2x2gb RAM. Help!

Default EP43-DS3 based system unstable with 2x2gb RAM. Help!

note: I made a thread about this issue a few days ago, but it quickly died an unglamorous death, so I'm going to make a new (hopefully clearer) one. If this goes against forum rules, then let me know and I'll close this one/resurrect the other one.

I recently built a computer using the EP43-DS3 board, with the specs listed in my sig.
    This is my first time building a PC and everything works fine, except I can only use one of the 2 2GB corsair RAM modules. If I try to use both of them - either in single or in dual channel mode - the system becomes very unstable and returns lots of BSOD's, either while trying to boot up or after a few minutes on the desktop. The best I got it (through voodoo magic, as far as I can tell), was to only crash during high-intensity stuff (graphically intensive games, lots of multitasking, that kind of thing).
    I
    n dual channel mode it is almost garuanteed to fail, but with 2 sticks in single channel mode it tends to at least make it to the desktop
    The system runs fine with only one of the RAM modules, so long as the timings and voltage and stuff are set to what's on the sticker.

In my previous thread it was suggested for me to fiddle with the MCH core values in the bios - I tried from 1.2v-1.3v with no joy.
    The RAM is 1066MHz - Would lowering it to 800Mhz help? (and if so, how do I do this?)
    I'm not looking to overclock, just to get my system stable!
    Thanks

edit: Oh yeah, and the RAM modules themselves are definately in good working order
    Intel Core2 E8500 @3.16GHz
    Windows 7 64bit RC
    NVidia Geforce GTX 260 factory overclock
    Gigabyte EP43-DS3 motheboard BIOS ver 7
    2 x 2GB Corsair XMS2 CM2X2048-8500C5C 1066MHz 5-6-6-18 2.10v
    corsair VX550 psu