Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IDE/SATA question

Default IDE/SATA question

I recently installed the GA-MA790FXT-UD5P motherboard and so far it has been great and was easy to install. I'm a newbie to Gigabyte and have used ASUS mbs for years. When I installed the new Windows 7 and ran the Windows Experience Index all my numbers were 7.3-7.6 (7.9 being tops). But my disk transfer rate was a dismal 5.9. I have a 10,000 rpm WD HD that was blazingly fast on my ASUS setup. So I poked around in BIOS and found everything defaults to IDE for the SATA ports. Why does it do this? My purpose was to switch to SATA drives for the faster speed. When I read all the complicated workarounds just to get SATA speeds it makes me want to go back to ASUS! Any thoughts would be appreciated. BTW--still getting 5.9 with all my tweaking. I tried to install the drivers post-install, but I guess I'll have to start over and do it on a fresh install. I need to set up a RAID array for working with HD video capture & editing.

GA-MA790FX-UD5P
    AMD Phenom II 955
    Corsair Dominator 4gb TW3X4G1600C9D-G
    Lian Li PC-A70F
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910W
    Sapphire HD480RT
    main: WD velociraptor 300gb 10000rpm SATA
    aux: 3--WD Caviar 640gb 7200rpm SATA
    Windows 7 Profession 64 bit
    Last edited by DonET; 11-19-2009 at 11:40 PM. Reason: add info

Default Re: IDE/SATA question

I hear you on that mine is pretty much the same thing. Perhaps that's the best that a HD will do.

It must have something to do with Windows 7 because I just ran the test in Vista 64 and I got perfect 5.9s--the highest score in Vista.

Chike is offline Senior Member

Mybe bacause standards have changed since Vista came out. You can't expect to get the same score as SSD.

All mechanical HDD's will score 5.9, including RAID 0 Velociraptors.