Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GTS250 video card conflicts with RAID adapter-->won't boot

Default GTS250 video card conflicts with RAID adapter-->won't boot

I just bought a Gigabyte GTS250 video card and it apparently conflicts with the SAS RAID adapter. When I install the video card in any PCIe x16 slot, the bootup fails at a disk error due to some inability to load the RAID array. Remove the card, and it boots just fine.

Here's the exact message diplayed:
    Unable to load LSI Logic Corp. MPT BIOS
    MPT BIOS Fault 0Dh encountered at adapter PCI(11h,00h,00h)
    Press any key to continue...
    I have tried this with and without the onboard VGA jumper disabled, and there is no difference. The mobo BIOS has no settings for manual configuration of IRQs, but this smells like an IRQ conflict. I have no prior experience with the PCIe bus (I'm an old-timer), so I don't know how IRQs come into play with PCIe; I know they are supposed to be hands-off, automatic configuration.

I realize this may be a problem with the ASUS components, and I also have tech support requests on that side. Also, please don't ask what drivers I'm using or what the card's firmware is. If you read my post, you will know that I am unable to boot the system due to no disks being detected.

System specs:
    ASUS Z8PE-D12X mobo (BIOS 0505 = most current)
    Xeon E5520 CPU (only 1)
    12GB OCZ DDR3 (non-ECC) RAM
    ASUS PIKE 1068E SAS RAID adapter
    (2) Fujitsu MBA3147RC drives in RAID1
    ASUS MIO-888 audio card
    Gigabyte GV-N250OC-1GI Rev. 2.0 video card (nVidia GTS250)

Default Re: GTS250 video card conflicts with RAID adapter-->won't boot