Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4

    Default P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)

    Hi,

    I recently got a new CPU (Q9400) and its not posting with my 4 sticks of 1gb ram (2 lots of 2x1GB Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4)
    Welcome to Corsair :: XMS2 Product Information

    Before I had the Q9400, I was using a E6420 with F4/6 bios which ran all 4 sticks fine, even overclocked them to 4-4-4-12 900Mhz at 2.1V.
    The ram all passes Memtest fine.
    But after flashing to F9, which I needed to do to run the Q9400, it wouldn't post with 4 sticks.
    It will post with any 3 sticks in any 3 locations.

    I've manually set the ram to run at 2.1V (+0.3V), 5-5-5-18, advance memory timing all set to SPD manually instead of auto.
    But everytime all four sticks are in, there would be no post/no display, and just keep doing a reboot cycle.

    What settings do i need to get this to work?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    profJim's Avatar
    profJim is online now Chief Munchkin + moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tacoma, WA. [USA]
    Posts
    7,811

    Default Re: P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)

    Did you load optimized bios settings after your bios flash before you made any bios changes?
    After a flash, the best procedure is to:
    1. enter the bios
    2. load optimized bios settings
    3. save settings and exit
    4. re-enter the bios
    5. make any required bios changes
    6. save settings and exit
    I always flash the bios with a single memory module in slot #1, then perform these steps, and finally, power down my system (and psu) to install the remaining memory modules.

    Follow steps 1 - 3 in this post to provide additional information. Post the screen-shot in step 4 once you are able to boot into windows.
    Use the generic P35 bios template and post your failed bios settings.

    Increasing MCH and FSB Overvoltage Control is probably required for stable operation.
    Q9650 @ 4.10GHz [9x456MHz]
    P35-DS4 [rev: 2.0] ~ Bios: F14
    4x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1094MHz @5-5-5-15
    MSI N460GTX Hawk Talon Attack (1GB) video card <---- SLI ---->
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 80 Plus Platinum psu (660w)
    WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data)
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot)
    SLI @ 16/4 works when running HyperSLI
    Cooler Master 120XL Seidon push/pull AIO cpu water cooling
    Cooler Master HAF XB computer case (RC-902XB-KKN1)
    Asus VH242H 24" monitor [1920x1080]
    MSI N460GTX Hawk (1GB) video card
    Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium
    HT|Omega Claro plus+ sound card
    CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD UPS
    E6300 (R0) @ 3.504GHz [8x438MHz] ~~ P35-DS3L [rev: 1.0] ~ Bios: F9 ~~ 4x2GB Kingston HyperX T1 PC2-8500, 876MHz @4-4-4-10
    Seasonic X650 80+ gold psu (650w) ~~ Xigmatek Balder HDT 1283 cpu cooler ~~ Cooler Master CM 690 case (RC-690-KKN1-GP)
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD MZ-7PC128B/WW (boot) ~~ WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data) ~~ ZM-MFC2 fan controller
    HT|Omega Striker 7.1 sound card ~~ Asus VH242H monitor [1920x1080] ~~ Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium ~~ CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD U.P.S
    .


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I m pretty sure I did a optimized bios settings.
    I will re-flash tonight.

    Should I provide screen shots/bios settings of 3 sticks of ram at optimized settings? Or should I change the settings that I know (e.g. ram/cpu voltages, basic ram settings)?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    profJim's Avatar
    profJim is online now Chief Munchkin + moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tacoma, WA. [USA]
    Posts
    7,811

    Default Re: P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)

    You don't need to re-flash.

    Follow steps 1 - 6 above and then boot with only 2 memory modules and run Memset86+ (2 - 4 passes) and Prime95 stress tests.
    When you flash your bios, there is no guarantee that your former stable settings will still work, even when you don't make any hardware changes.
    Forget overclocking for now, see if you can get your system stable with 2 and then 4 memory modules at stock speeds.
    Q9650 @ 4.10GHz [9x456MHz]
    P35-DS4 [rev: 2.0] ~ Bios: F14
    4x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1094MHz @5-5-5-15
    MSI N460GTX Hawk Talon Attack (1GB) video card <---- SLI ---->
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 80 Plus Platinum psu (660w)
    WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data)
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot)
    SLI @ 16/4 works when running HyperSLI
    Cooler Master 120XL Seidon push/pull AIO cpu water cooling
    Cooler Master HAF XB computer case (RC-902XB-KKN1)
    Asus VH242H 24" monitor [1920x1080]
    MSI N460GTX Hawk (1GB) video card
    Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium
    HT|Omega Claro plus+ sound card
    CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD UPS
    E6300 (R0) @ 3.504GHz [8x438MHz] ~~ P35-DS3L [rev: 1.0] ~ Bios: F9 ~~ 4x2GB Kingston HyperX T1 PC2-8500, 876MHz @4-4-4-10
    Seasonic X650 80+ gold psu (650w) ~~ Xigmatek Balder HDT 1283 cpu cooler ~~ Cooler Master CM 690 case (RC-690-KKN1-GP)
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD MZ-7PC128B/WW (boot) ~~ WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data) ~~ ZM-MFC2 fan controller
    HT|Omega Striker 7.1 sound card ~~ Asus VH242H monitor [1920x1080] ~~ Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium ~~ CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD U.P.S
    .


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)

    Thanks, I will try run to test tonight (unfortunately I may not have time to run everything tonight).

    Also, I haven't tried overclocking with the new CPU yet; since I've had it in, it had has problems with the ram, so I haven't even attempted to OC.
    Gigabyte P35-DQ6 v1.0 (F9), Intel Q9400 (SLB6B, stock heatsink), 2x Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4, Palit 4870 1GB Sonic Edition, Samsung F3 1TB (HD103HJ), WD Green 1TB (WD10EACS), Thermaltake ToughPower 750W (W0116RU), Antec P182SE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)

    Hi profJim,

    It seems like one of my stick is faulty; it would either not post, display garbage using post then lock up or get into memtest then lock up straight away when its installed

    I'll get that pair RMA'ed, and then retest with 4 sticks.

    Thanks for all the help
    Gigabyte P35-DQ6 v1.0 (F9), Intel Q9400 (SLB6B, stock heatsink), 2x Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4, Palit 4870 1GB Sonic Edition, Samsung F3 1TB (HD103HJ), WD Green 1TB (WD10EACS), Thermaltake ToughPower 750W (W0116RU), Antec P182SE

  7. #7
    profJim's Avatar
    profJim is online now Chief Munchkin + moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tacoma, WA. [USA]
    Posts
    7,811

    Default Re: P35-DQ6 adn 4 sticks of ram (F9 Bios)

    Did you try additional testing with 2 memory modules by swapping their positions in memory slots #1 and #3?

    Using the pair of good memory modules, you can post the information in steps 2 - 4 from post #2.
    Your P35-DQ6 allows for finer voltage adjustments which will make overclocking easier.

    Please add your operating system version to your forum signature.
    Q9650 @ 4.10GHz [9x456MHz]
    P35-DS4 [rev: 2.0] ~ Bios: F14
    4x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1094MHz @5-5-5-15
    MSI N460GTX Hawk Talon Attack (1GB) video card <---- SLI ---->
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 80 Plus Platinum psu (660w)
    WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data)
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot)
    SLI @ 16/4 works when running HyperSLI
    Cooler Master 120XL Seidon push/pull AIO cpu water cooling
    Cooler Master HAF XB computer case (RC-902XB-KKN1)
    Asus VH242H 24" monitor [1920x1080]
    MSI N460GTX Hawk (1GB) video card
    Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium
    HT|Omega Claro plus+ sound card
    CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD UPS
    E6300 (R0) @ 3.504GHz [8x438MHz] ~~ P35-DS3L [rev: 1.0] ~ Bios: F9 ~~ 4x2GB Kingston HyperX T1 PC2-8500, 876MHz @4-4-4-10
    Seasonic X650 80+ gold psu (650w) ~~ Xigmatek Balder HDT 1283 cpu cooler ~~ Cooler Master CM 690 case (RC-690-KKN1-GP)
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD MZ-7PC128B/WW (boot) ~~ WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data) ~~ ZM-MFC2 fan controller
    HT|Omega Striker 7.1 sound card ~~ Asus VH242H monitor [1920x1080] ~~ Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium ~~ CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD U.P.S
    .


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •