Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SATA Drives Showing Up IDE in BIOS

Default SATA Drives Showing Up IDE in BIOS

Guys, need your help here. I'm a relative noob but am on my 3rd machine. In this computer, I'm using the Gigabyte EP45-UD3P motherboard, an Intel Q9600 (core 2 quad), Corsair Dominator (4GB, 1066), and an old Nvidia 8800 GTS video card. PSU is Seasonic 750W, OS is Win 7 Pro 64 Bit... Here's my situation/question: I took this mobo from another machine that had 2 sata hard drvies and one PATA optical drive and scrapped that machine for parts. As a result, I then installed the mobo in a completely new machine and set it up from scratch. Boot drive is a Corsair 60GB Reactor SSD drive (sata of course) and a new lite-on SATA optical drive. Now for the challenge/confusing part. I think I must have done something wrong in how I initially setup the machine, because all my drives are showing up as IDE in my BIOS. When I go into BIOS, it lists the drives in teh whole "master/slave" arrangement. I fear I need to start from scratch, reset my BIOS/CMOS before installing my drives and OS, but is there anything I'm missing here? Does it really not matter? My 'windows experience' shows my drive delivering a 7.0, so the transfer speeds are okay... Part of me just wants it done right, regardless of whether it's working fine now. Any suggestions from this esteemed group? Thanks in advance!

Default Re: SATA Drives Showing Up IDE in BIOS

The board does have more than two SATA connectors. Which ones do you use?

The ICH10R (if you do use its connectors) does have three modes: IDE, AHCI, and RAID. Which one did you choose?