Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133

    Lightbulb Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    Hello Gigabyte,

    cpu - i7 870
    mobo - Gigabyte P55A-UD4 (latest BIO F8)
    ram - 4x2GB G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)
    QPI/VTT set to 1.47v
    CPU VCORE set to 1.3375v
    DRAM to 1.660v

    I have overclocked the i7 870 beyond 4GHz and now is running at 4.05GHz with the RAM at 2208MHz and XMP on. RAM voltage set at 1.66v, BCLK at 184 and Multiplier at x22. Core voltage at 1.36v (MAX. at 100% loaded).

    I have been testing this setup in PRIME (with various voltage settings). At 1.36v MAX, core temps are around high 70c and low 80c in average. Every time the system runs pretty well before 1.25 to 1.5 hours and after that fatal error occurs (one or more workers stopped working).

    I would like the system to run with trouble free at PRIME at least for 2 hours (if possible, higher CPU speed as well).

    So Gigabyte, any good recommendation?

    Thanks!

    full spec -

    i7 870
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / BIO F8 (latest)
    4 x 2GB G. Skill DDR3 2200MHz CL7-10-10-28
    Crosair Hydro H50 push pull x 2 Noiseblocker M12-S3hs fans
    Radeon HD5770 x 2 CF
    Crosair HX750 power
    2 x 1TB WD Black
    LG 8X Blu Ray rewriter
    Samsung 22X DVD rewriter
    Lian Li PC-60FNW
    Zalman ZM-MFC1 fan controller
    Noiseblocker PK-1 fan x 2 (side fans) / Noiseblocker PK-2 fan x 1 (top fan)

  2. #2
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    Can you please list your full settings from the MIT Section, template is in my signature.

    The issue is likely XMP, you should not use this and set things yourself. Of course you may also just need more Vcore and or QPI/Vtt, but we need to see your full settings first before we can advise.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133

    Lightbulb Re: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    CPU = i7 870
    Motherboard = P55A-UD4P
    BIOS Version = F8
    Ram = G SKILL, F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (4 X 2GB DDR3 2200MHz cL-7-10-10-28), G.SKILL-Products

    COOLING = CORSAIR H50 PUSH-PULL



    Advanced Frequency Settings:

    CPU Clock Ratio [22x]

    Advanced Core Features [Press Enter]:

    Intel(R) Turbo Boost Tech................[Disabled]
    CPU Cores Enabled........................[All]
    CPU Multi-Threading......................[Enabled]
    CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)..................[Disabled]
    C3/C6/C7 State Support...................[Disabled]
    CPU Thermal Monitor......................[Auto]
    CPU EIST Function........................[Disabled]
    Bi-Directional PROCHOT...................[Auto]

    QPI Clock Ratio..........................[x32]
    QPI Link Speed...........................5.85GHz
    Uncore Clock Ratio.......................18x
    Uncore Frequency.........................3294MHz

    >>>>> Standard Clock Control <<<<<

    Base Clock (BCLK) Control................[Enabled]
    BCLK Frequency ..........................[184]
    Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.)..........[Profile 1]
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD)...........[12.0]
    Memory Frequency (MHz)..............2196 2208
    PCI Express Frequency (MHz)..............[Auto]
    C.I.A.2..................................[Disabled]

    >>>>> Advanced Clock Control <<<<<

    CPU Clock Drive..........................[ 700mV]
    PCI Express Clock Drive..................[ 700mV]
    CPU Clock Skew...........................[ 0ps]

    Advanced Memory Settings:

    Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.)..........[Profile 1]
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD)...........[12.0]
    Memory Frequency (MHz)..............2196 2208
    Performance Enhance (SPD)..............[Standard]
    DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD).............[Expert]
    Profile DDR Voltage .....................1.65v
    Profile QPI Voltage .....................1.1v
    Channel Interleaving................6 [Auto]
    Rank Interleaving...................4 [Auto]

    >>>>> Channel A & B

    Channel A Timing Settings [Press Enter]:
    Cas Latency Time....................7 [7 ]
    tRCD................................10 [10]
    tRP.................................10 [10]
    tRAS................................28 [28]

    >>>>> Advanced Timing Control

    tRC.................................40 [Auto]
    tRRD................................6 [Auto]
    tWTR................................6 [Auto]
    tWR.................................10 [Auto]
    tWTP................................22 [Auto]
    tWL.................................8 [Auto]
    tRFC................................100 [Auto]
    tRTP................................6 [Auto]
    tFAW................................30 [Auto]
    Command Rate (CMD)..................2 [Auto]

    >>>>> Misc Timing Control

    B2B Cas Delay............................[Auto]
    Round Trip Latency (CHANNEL A)*.....43 [Auto]
    Round Trip Latency (CHANNEL B)*.....45 [Auto]



    Advanced Voltage Settings:

    ******Mother Board Voltage Control ******
    Voltage Types............Normal......Current
    --------------------------------------------

    >>> CPU
    Load Line Calibration...................[Auto]
    CPU Vcore..................1.19375v.....[1.33750v]
    QPI/VTT Voltage............1.100v.......[1.470v]

    >>> MCH/ICH
    PCH Core...................1.050v.......[Auto]
    CPU PLL....................1.800v.......[Auto]

    >>> DRAM
    DRAM Voltage...............1.500v.......[1.660v]
    DRAM Termination...........0.750v.......[Auto]
    Ch-A Data VRef.............0.750v.......[Auto]
    Ch-A Data VRef.............0.750v.......[Auto]
    Ch-B Data VRef.............0.750v.......[Auto]
    Ch-B Data VRef.............0.750v.......[Auto]


    Miscellaneous Settings:[/SIZE]

    Isochronous Support.....................[Enabled]
    Virtualisation technology...............[Enabled]



    At this Vcore setting, core temps are around high 70c and low 80c. This i7 870 generates tons of heat even though I have the Corsair H50 in push-pull setup already.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by jojodancer; 04-02-2010 at 04:46 PM.

  4. #4
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    Ouch, please start over and load optimized defaults, then save/apply/reboot F10 BACK to the BIOS. Once in the BIOS go set your SATA/Disk settings back again, and then set all your overclock settings again. You are starting with Fail Safe BIOS settings and that can cause many issues.

    Aside from what you have, which looks fairly ok, you may want to make the following changes. Hey, can you adjust uncore with your CPU?

    Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.)..........[Profile 1] << Disabled
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD)...........[12.0]
    Memory Frequency (MHz)..............2196 2208
    PCI Express Frequency (MHz)..............[Auto] << Set 100

    Load Line Calibration...................[Auto] << Level 1
    CPU Vcore..................1.19375v.....[1.33750v] << May need a bit more, or by enabling Level 1 LLC you may be able to lower this later
    QPI/VTT Voltage............1.100v.......[1.470v] << May need more or less, when Prime fails what BSOD code do you get if you get BSOD's? Looks like 0x00000000

    >>> MCH/ICH
    PCH Core...................1.050v.......[Auto] << 1.1 could help
    CPU PLL....................1.800v.......[Auto] << 1.84 could help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    Thanks! Will input your suggestions and see.

    BTW, where did you notice that my computer is starting with Fail Safe BIOS?

    Yes, I can uncore the CPU.

    In LOAD LINE CALIBRATION, I only have "Enable" or "Disable".

    Also, in PRIME test, it is not totally crashed. Usually it is 1 or 2 "workers stopped" and the rest of workers are still "working".

    Thanks!
    Last edited by jojodancer; 04-03-2010 at 04:50 AM.

  6. #6
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    Fail Safe? I can tell, it's a secret :)

    About Uncore, sorry I couldn't tell from your reply and I am not sure about P55 boards/CPU's (Always forget), can you change the Uncore multiplier?

    Load Line Calibration, just set enabled then. Are you using the latest BIOS?

    It sounds like you might not be, UD4P is on F9k, you can get it here if you want
    http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/giga...st-bios-28441/

    OK well one or two workers stopping means it failed, but that wont help us know a BSOD code since there isn't one. This might help you be able to tell why it stops, a post here explains some of how/why on Prime95
    http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/anot...tml#post296644

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    It is in F9K now. Thanks.

    Yes I think the Uncore multiplier can be changed but I have to double check. What do you suggest?

    Anyway, this thing has passed small FFTs test (2+ hours) but not large FFTs test. What does it tell me?

  8. #8
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / G Skill F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS (DDR3 2200MHz 7-10-10-28)

    If you can change the uncore, raise it above 1.5x memory multi, but you may no be able to.

    Not sure, see the above link for prim95 testing info. I only use Blend on prime95 myself

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •