Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4

    Default P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST

    Hello All, I must say that after reading a dozen pages on the Gigabyte thread I am impressed with the answers to many of the postings.

    My own situation is has my totally confused:

    New system build

    P55a-UD3
    Intel i5-760
    2x2GB G.SKILL F3-12800CL7D-4GBECO Eco PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 CL7-8-7-24 1.35V
    850w Power Supply
    XFX HD5850
    Win7 64bit

    Everything looked OK during Win7 install, then on a reboot after HD 5850 drivers were install, - no POST.

    The Power Supply Fan and the CPU cooling fan spins for a moment when the power on button was pressed.

    I then pulled the UD3 and benched it with only

    P55a-UD3
    Intel i5-760
    1 stick of Ram (in white slot)
    850w Power Supply
    XFX HD5850
    +PS2 keyboard
    +Monitor

    No POST - no beeps

    Tried the other stick of RAM in white slot
    No POST - no beeps

    Tried no RAM,
    No POST - beeps

    - My thought was a possible Motherboard short, so I bought a P55a-UD4P
    Same results

    - My next thought was a bad Video card, so I bought a HD 5570
    Same results

    Now whats got me baffled:
    Installed HD 5850 in PCI-E slot x8
    Installed HD 5570 in PCI-E slot x16 ( I know its running at x8 )
    system POSTS OK
    Video out is only from HD 5570 in primary PCI-E slot

    Woo hoo! Quick as I can, I QFlash the BIOS to the latest revision - F13.
    (no discernible help from new BIOS)


    Win7 wanted new drivers for a few items but gets up and running with 'Standard VGA Driver', video out only from HD 5570.

    Win7 detects and installs HD 5850 driver (still no video out from HD 5850).
    system in stable at this point (12hrs of Prime95)

    Win7 detects and wants to install HD 5570 drivers, if I allow the drivers to be installed Win7 will not restart, only through safe mode can I access the system to remove the HD 5570 driver.

    So, two Gigabyte motherboards (P55a-UD3 and P55a_UD4P) and two video cards later I am still struggling.

    I wish I had access to another CPU to test, but my cash is blown.

    The way I am running the (stable but crippled) system now:

    P55a-UD4P (F13)
    Intel i5-760
    4x2GB G.SKILL F3-12800CL7D-4GBECO Eco PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 CL7-8-7-24 1.35V
    850w Power Supply
    HD 5570 - primary PCI-E
    HD 5850 - secondary PCI-E
    Win7 64bit (standard VGA driver)

    Any thoughts ?

    DJH




















    Does not

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham,Great Britain
    Posts
    9,250

    Default Re: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST

    its not cpu,have you tested 5850 in another slot and it worked? are you setting pci-e#1 as first initial display?are you making sure the power cable is connected from psu to the 5850? try disabling sata3 and usb3 if your not using them as they reduce the pci-e lanes to 8x if in crossfire
    are you installing ati 10.8 drivers???

    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206...dd_ccc_enu.exe 64bit

    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206...dd_ccc_enu.exe 32bit
    Last edited by wazza300; 09-03-2010 at 01:31 AM.
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit
    1xSamsung f4 HD204UI 2tb hard drive Storage
    Powercolor 7970 3gb V3 @1150mhz core/1700mhz mem,1.150v Accelero aftermarket air cooler 55c max
    Razer Lycosa Keyboard
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Lite-On iHAS124-19 24x Sata DVDRW
    K-World Hybrid DVB-T 210SE Digital T.V Card
    L.G E2260V L.E.D 1920x1080 Monitor
    Xfx Pro 750w silver rated Psu 80+
    Fractal Arc Midi Case

    http://i38.tinypic.com/14myvfa.jpg x58 ud5 <=3.8ghz + 4.2ghz Overclock Template!!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/warren304#p/u Visit Me On Youtube

    Lots Of Gaming Videos With X58 Ud5 System And Gpu On My Youtube Channel!!
    Just Uploaded New Battlefield 4 Video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST

    Thank you for your reply.


    Regarding the 5850 in another slot,
    - Yes I have tried the 5850 in each PCI-E slot on both motherboards (with other slot empty) - No POST after my initial install of Win7.

    Re Setting PCI-E #1 as initial Display, I can only get to BIOS with 5570 in PCI-E slot #1 and 5850 in PCI-I Slot #2. I have set the PCI-E #2 as initial Display but no video from 5850. With only the 5850 installed I cannot get to BIOS. I have shorted the BIOS jumper to reset the BIOS settings when changing which PCI-E slot to use.

    2x4-Pin power cables are firmly attached to 5850.

    I have disabled Sata3 and USB3, even though no crossfire is active. This was one of my last acts before reaching out to Tweaktown for help.

    Re drivers, I had not installed 10.8 because I couldn't get it to POST when installed alone, but Win7 does detect the card so I can and will update from 8.9 to 10.8 (64bit).

    Although I'd like the 5850 to work, with only the 5570 installed I still do not get to POST. Because of that, I'm not focused on the 5850 as my trouble source.

    Thx, DJH.
    Last edited by Darlh123; 09-03-2010 at 02:01 AM. Reason: spelling

  4. #4
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST

    What power supply is it? Can you test with another brand or model?

    Before going there, you may want to relfash the latest BIOS using Qflash, but this time disable Keep DMI Data. Then once done clear the CMOS, then startup and load optimized and reboot to the BIOS, then make all changes you normally would.
    Last edited by Lsdmeasap; 09-03-2010 at 03:11 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4

    Red face Re: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST <resolved>

    When I first booted the 'new' system I was using a 500w Antec power supply and knew I had to upgrade the wattage.

    I purchased an 850w Thermaketake Tough-Power and pulled the Antec. The 500w from the 'old' power supply is enough for the 5570 so I pulled the 5850 and re-attached the 500w power supply.

    Low and behold a successful POST. Something must be wrong with the motherboard PCI power being supplied by the 850w PS and by supplying power through the PCI-E bus it was enough the get life up and running.

    It was one step I hadn't though of.

    Thanks to everybody here, and especially Lsdmeasap who helped me stumble in the right direction.

    BTW QFlash doesn't seem to like Fat32, to me a while to work out why my BIOS flashing wasn't working with 16Gb flash drives.

    Cheers, DJH

  6. #6
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST

    Nice to see you were able to make some progress with this!!

    So it's a bad or incompatible 850W PSU then right?

    Qflash must be FAT32/16/12, and does not like larger USB Drives.

    What did you mean it does not like FAT32? Were you able to get the 16GB drive to work? If so what format did you use?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST <fixed>

    I'm up an running after doing a Win7 image restore on the system using the 5570 video and a 500w power supply. No time to fetch another PS to get the 5850 install. - So yes bad power supply, I can't find my multimeter to test but the system in nice and stable.

    The 16gb flash drive is Fat32 and Qflash let me navigate and select the BIOS file and even proceed with the write attempt, but on hitting the key to begin 'flashing' the bios a message about not being the correct BIOS image for this machine. Same file on an old 2GB (FAT16) worked fine.

    Cheers, DJH

  8. #8
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: P55a-UD4P (F13) will not POST

    It could be ok PSU still, maybe just incompatible with this board. Some just don't work properly, not sure why?

    So ya test it with a PSU Tester before you decide to RMA or junk it.

    Ahh ok, it's just because it's a large USB, Qflash doesn't like them at all. It works best with smaller USB Drives (2GB or smaller), FAT32/FAt16/FAt12, ect all work fine with smaller drives.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •