Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: wiring fans for x58-ud3r

Default wiring fans for x58-ud3r

hi, i have been searching the web and found out this is the "official gigabyte usa forum"
    so this is my first time here.
    its my first time building a computer and i would like to know how the wiring goes for a gigabyte x58 ud3r motherboard
    all my parts are coming in this week and just want to make sure before i make any big mistakes
    parts for my build are
    haf 932 case amd edition
    cooler master silent pro 850w psu
    i7-930
    gigabyte x58-ud3r
    gigabyte gtx 460
    kingston hyperx 1600
    kingston hyperx fan
    1gb hard drive
    cd/dvd burner
    thermaltake frio with two fans install

i want to know how to wire up all the 3 case fans, two heat sink fans, memory fans onto the board. is it better to wire the fans on the mobo or connect them directly to the power supply. the wires on the heatsink fans are kind of short and can i connect them to the northbridge fan header and cpu fan, they are 3 pins, and if i connect fans to the mobo do i need to change any bios settings.
    sorry for the newb questions as this is my very fist time building a computer.

thanks in advance for anyones help.

Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru

Default Re: wiring fans for x58-ud3r

Well there is several fan headers on the board, so you may be able to use many of those fans connected to the onboard headers.

CPU fan connect to CPU fan of course, and your memory fan you can probably connect to either PWR fan or SYS-FAN1. Then the other fans will be up to you to decide where to connect them based on where they are in your case and how long the cables are.