Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: 460 OC settings + fan profile help

Default 460 OC settings + fan profile help

I received my GTX460 OC 1gb yesterday and since everyone seems to push them higher I thought i would too. I'm really no expert with OC'ing so i wasn't sure what changes i should make.

I've download MSI Afterburner and upped my settings to 800/1600/2000 (i just copied someone else). My case is pretty good (Coolermaster 690 II Adv.) with pretty decent airflow so hopefully temperatures should be ok.

I haven't done any stress tests yet so i cant say if it's stable or not. What i'd like to know is what's a 'safe' maximum overclock on this card and whats a safe maximum temperature for it to run at under load.

Also, what are the symptoms of GPU instability? What should i look about for when running furmark or playing games?

Lastly, I see lots of people talking about custom fan profiles and was wondering if i should be using one or if its ok to leave the card and afterburner to do its own thing?

Many thanks.

Default Re: 460 OC settings + fan profile help

you should try and push as far as you want to go or can go on stock voltages,look for any artifacts on screen,they appear like black blocks or tiny flecks,then back down on memory clocks or core clocks and retest,as long as your 100% stable,regarding voltages i dont know with that card,maybe someone can help you more but i would try and go as far as you can on stock voltages for now,for fan speed set it to a percentage thats not noisy,it will spin up higher if temps go up,i set mine to 54% constant and cant hear it at all but your card might be different
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler