Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings




  1. #1
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    Hi,

    I have a brand new system set up with I5-750 sitting on a GA-P55-USB3. When i first installed the PC i went into the bios just to snoop around and see the settings. The only change i did was to use the XMP Profile1 because it fixed my memory timings. Now yesterday i flashed to F8 using @Bios and restarted went into the bios and saw the Cpu Clock Drive and PCI Express Clock Drive down to 700mv each, i clearly remember them to be @ 800/900. Did the flashing load the fail-safe defaults? If i load the optimized defaults will it change it back? and if it doesnt should i set them manually to 800/900? Could it be that the F8 bios sets them to 700mv? I havent found any documentation on the F8 release except the Enhance memory support.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham,Great Britain
    Posts
    9,250

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    you can set them yourself if you want,but if its stable and not crashing then leave them as they are,read the manual on how to set up the ram speed and timings manually without xmp,and set the dram voltage according to your ram spec

    just adjust the system memory multiplier spd 8x,10x,12x ect to give you rated ram speed 1600mhz ect,then select manual timing then select quick and typ in timings in top slots like this
    8
    8
    8
    24
    1T command rate
    Last edited by wazza300; 11-18-2010 at 08:51 PM.
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit
    1xSamsung f4 HD204UI 2tb hard drive Storage
    Powercolor 7970 3gb V3 @1150mhz core/1700mhz mem,1.150v Accelero aftermarket air cooler 55c max
    Razer Lycosa Keyboard
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Lite-On iHAS124-19 24x Sata DVDRW
    K-World Hybrid DVB-T 210SE Digital T.V Card
    L.G E2260V L.E.D 1920x1080 Monitor
    Xfx Pro 750w silver rated Psu 80+
    Fractal Arc Midi Case

    http://i38.tinypic.com/14myvfa.jpg x58 ud5 <=3.8ghz + 4.2ghz Overclock Template!!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/warren304#p/u Visit Me On Youtube

    Lots Of Gaming Videos With X58 Ud5 System And Gpu On My Youtube Channel!!
    Just Uploaded New Battlefield 4 Video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    Thanks for the reply.

    I dont think XMP is an issue here, why do it myself if it can detect them automatically?
    Does XMP alter anything else except the timings and voltage? The rams are dual kit 2x2GB 1333 7-7-7-20 @ 1,65v and with XMP on it detects them.

    The system was stable before the F8 update with 800/900mv. I am guessing the @Bios feature loaded the fail-safe defaults and loading the optimized will restore them.

    Another question i had to ask is about the AUTO on the most CPU features (turbo,c1e, etc.) Do i need to select ENABLE there? i want all these features i am not planning on overclocking. Thanks.
    Last edited by Darkling; 11-18-2010 at 09:16 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham,Great Britain
    Posts
    9,250

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    please dont use @bios to flash with,its a windows software based program and if it crashes midway through flashing it will break your mb and will need rma to fix,always flash using q-flash and a usb memory stick

    http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte...ash-guide.html

    as for xmp its fine to use as long as it doesnt overvolt dram voltage or qpi/vtt voltage,its much more reliable setting memory yourself,more so if your overclocking,

    for turbo c1e ect auto should be ok,you can choose enable but on auto it will use them anyway if and when needed
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit
    1xSamsung f4 HD204UI 2tb hard drive Storage
    Powercolor 7970 3gb V3 @1150mhz core/1700mhz mem,1.150v Accelero aftermarket air cooler 55c max
    Razer Lycosa Keyboard
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Lite-On iHAS124-19 24x Sata DVDRW
    K-World Hybrid DVB-T 210SE Digital T.V Card
    L.G E2260V L.E.D 1920x1080 Monitor
    Xfx Pro 750w silver rated Psu 80+
    Fractal Arc Midi Case

    http://i38.tinypic.com/14myvfa.jpg x58 ud5 <=3.8ghz + 4.2ghz Overclock Template!!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/warren304#p/u Visit Me On Youtube

    Lots Of Gaming Videos With X58 Ud5 System And Gpu On My Youtube Channel!!
    Just Uploaded New Battlefield 4 Video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by wazza300 View Post
    please dont use @bios to flash with,its a windows software based program and if it crashes midway through flashing it will break your mb and will need rma to fix,always flash using q-flash and a usb memory stick

    http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte...ash-guide.html

    as for xmp its fine to use as long as it doesnt overvolt dram voltage or qpi/vtt voltage,its much more reliable setting memory yourself,more so if your overclocking,

    for turbo c1e ect auto should be ok,you can choose enable but on auto it will use them anyway if and when needed
    Ouch i already used @Bios i hope i didnt do anything unrecoverable. I booted after the update so i guess i passed the procedure. I am guessing it failed to load the optimized and loaded the fail safe. With a load of optimized settings i would be all set (i hope).

    Now for the XMP i am with you man, but i need some simple instructions on how to do it.As i enter the bios i see so many options and don't want to ruin anything. Please post the steps if you know the procedure as simple as it gets and i promise i will give it a try.
    My specs are : i5 750, ga-p55-usb3, kingston 4GB XMP 2x2GB 1333mhz CL7 (7-7-7-20) @ 1,65v.

    EDIT : Please advise if i need to repeat the procedure with Q-Flash and the F8 update. Will it complete since i updated it already with @Bios?
    Last edited by Darkling; 11-18-2010 at 10:30 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham,Great Britain
    Posts
    9,250

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    your fine now youve flashed,but from now on use q-flash to update bios with,and you will be fine using xmp as its set all the timings/voltages correctly

    all you have to alter is the spd to manual then quick and type in the timings,set dram voltage to 1.66v and thats it,read the mb manual it will show you and show pictures of where the settings are,but i would use xmp as its working fine
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit
    1xSamsung f4 HD204UI 2tb hard drive Storage
    Powercolor 7970 3gb V3 @1150mhz core/1700mhz mem,1.150v Accelero aftermarket air cooler 55c max
    Razer Lycosa Keyboard
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Lite-On iHAS124-19 24x Sata DVDRW
    K-World Hybrid DVB-T 210SE Digital T.V Card
    L.G E2260V L.E.D 1920x1080 Monitor
    Xfx Pro 750w silver rated Psu 80+
    Fractal Arc Midi Case

    http://i38.tinypic.com/14myvfa.jpg x58 ud5 <=3.8ghz + 4.2ghz Overclock Template!!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/warren304#p/u Visit Me On Youtube

    Lots Of Gaming Videos With X58 Ud5 System And Gpu On My Youtube Channel!!
    Just Uploaded New Battlefield 4 Video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    Ya that is Fail Safe, you can just load Optimized Defaults now if you want and start over.

    Please don't use @BIOS anymore :)

  8. #8
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
    Ya that is Fail Safe, you can just load Optimized Defaults now if you want and start over.

    Please don't use @BIOS anymore :)
    Fewww, i think i skipped a big one. First thing i did when i got home was to go to bios and load optimal settings F10 and exit. The computer made a bizare sound and didnt open...
    Ok i calmed myself after losing 10 pounds in cold sweat and removed to power cord to let it cool down. I plugged in and fortunately it opened i went into bios and the Clocks were back to normal 800mv/900mv. That meant the optimal had been loaded, i enabled XMP the ram was detected and i am all set i guess. Is that power failure normal? I ran Prime95 again and it was normal with max temps 62-65. I guess i am all set. For sure i am forgetting about flashing the bios again with @Bios

  9. #9
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    It's probably the normal shut down and restart that happens when you make certain BIOS changes, that would be made when you load Optimized.

    Sometimes when you make certain changes the board will shut down partially, or fully, a time or two, depending on the setting.

    Sounds like you are all good now though right?

  10. #10
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: GA-P55-USB3 F8 Default Bios Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
    It's probably the normal shut down and restart that happens when you make certain BIOS changes, that would be made when you load Optimized.

    Sometimes when you make certain changes the board will shut down partially, or fully, a time or two, depending on the setting.

    Sounds like you are all good now though right?
    Yes i played some games, run some stress tests and all seem to be responding well.
    Also i catched an another thread that you said that it is good to have only your SATA disks on 0-3 controllers and the DVD and other SATA devices to 4-6. Did it make any difference i did that on my PC? Finally about XMP i wrote down the changes that it did to the bios to recognize the memory and wrote it down, but still i dont want to try and set them myself.

    EDIT : This is copied from the Manual of GA-P55-USB3 :

    PCI Express Frequency(Mhz)
    Allows you to manually set the PCIe clock frequency. The adjustable range is from 90 MHz to 150 MHz. Auto sets the PCIe clock frequency to standard 100 MHz. (Default: Auto)

    Do i leave it Auto or set 100mhz manually?
    Last edited by Darkling; 11-19-2010 at 04:52 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •