Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: -FIXED- GA-EP31-DS3L MB Bios update issue

Lightbulb -FIXED- GA-EP31-DS3L MB Bios update issue

Hi guys. I'm new to this forum and actually signed up to try and get a handle on the below problem. This is a great site and the info here was really helpful. For that reason I thought I should post my problem and solution here on the off chance it can help someone.

I was recently having a problem in Windows 7 (32bit) going to BSOD when booting, it would get to the logo and then crash. Looking into it it seemed my nvidia graphics card was to blame, despite all drivers being up to date. It would eventually load up after auto restart. After exhausting all options (and I mean ALL!) I decided on a bios update as the bios on my system was about 2 1/2 years old.

I am new to bios updating and decided to use Gigabytes in-house software, @bios, to perform the update (I didn't want to install the wrong bios). After performing the update I restarted the system, however, I foolishly didn't run bios setup to reconfigure the bios for my needs (I run two harddrives, and its default is to install from the older drive that used to have kubuntu on it), so I got the standard grub failure message. I restarted the system and all I got was a blank screen every time. I figured I had fried my bios.

After a lot of research I settled on at least trying a cmos reset, not expecting any results there. But lo and behold, it worked first time. This time I set up the bios boot parameters correctly and its been smooth sailing (So Far!) and it even fixed the BSOD error I was constantly having.