Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 2 of 17 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 166

Thread: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750




  1. #11
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    Yes, it will probably run 1600Mhz if you use looser timings, I'd start with 888-24 and see how that goes.

  2. #12
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    Quote Originally Posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
    Yes, it will probably run 1600Mhz if you use looser timings, I'd start with 888-24 and see how that goes.
    I managed a BCLK 160, ram 1600 at 1.65v with 7-8-7-24 timings and ran prime95 but the CPU went hot. I think a need a new heatsink, the stock cooler isnt going to cut it. How much performance gain should i be waiting from this change? I dont know if i should stick with this overclock for real time differences or i am just messing around with the PC for no reason. Would you recommend sticking with the default speeds?

  3. #13
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    Sounds like a good plan, those stock coolers are barely enough for stock speeds :)

    I'd run 4Ghz or more with a good cooler, performance will be MUCH better!

  4. #14
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    How about the real time differences between a 2,6 to 3,2 (w/Turbo boost) and 1333mhz RAM VS a 3.2 to 3,8 with 1600mhz? IF we are talking about 5-10 FPS i'd rather overclock my graphics card for that matter. As you can see i am a little uncomfortable with the current overclock...

  5. #15
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    I'm really not sure, never overclocked with such a small amount?

    If you get a new cooler but still do not want to run 4Ghz, then 3.8 would be a good improvement over 3.2.

    The warm temps is probably all that is making you concerned now, I'd get a new cooler and then you'll feel much better about overclocking.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham,Great Britain
    Posts
    9,250

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    sorry i didnt think you would get them to run at 1600mhz,i know i cant push my ram much further without huge amount of qpi/vtt voltage and with that comes extra heat,i couldnt really clock past 3.2ghz on an intel cooler there pretty useless unless your gonna stay at stock clocks

    pick up a good quality cooler,it will perform way better than the intel one and will be quieter too
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit
    1xSamsung f4 HD204UI 2tb hard drive Storage
    Powercolor 7970 3gb V3 @1150mhz core/1700mhz mem,1.150v Accelero aftermarket air cooler 55c max
    Razer Lycosa Keyboard
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Lite-On iHAS124-19 24x Sata DVDRW
    K-World Hybrid DVB-T 210SE Digital T.V Card
    L.G E2260V L.E.D 1920x1080 Monitor
    Xfx Pro 750w silver rated Psu 80+
    Fractal Arc Midi Case

    http://i38.tinypic.com/14myvfa.jpg x58 ud5 <=3.8ghz + 4.2ghz Overclock Template!!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/warren304#p/u Visit Me On Youtube

    Lots Of Gaming Videos With X58 Ud5 System And Gpu On My Youtube Channel!!
    Just Uploaded New Battlefield 4 Video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. #17
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    Ya most 1600 memory is 1066 or 1333 by default anyway, same as 1066 and 800 DDR2 is generally 667.

    You can push your ram past 1800Mhz you mean? You may need looser timings, or as you mentioned your CPU may just be one that needs a lot of QPI/Vtt to reach high uncore/memory speeds is all.

  8. #18
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    Quote Originally Posted by Lsdmeasap View Post
    Ya most 1600 memory is 1066 or 1333 by default anyway, same as 1066 and 800 DDR2 is generally 667.

    You can push your ram past 1800Mhz you mean? You may need looser timings, or as you mentioned your CPU may just be one that needs a lot of QPI/Vtt to reach high uncore/memory speeds is all.
    LSD i decided to go with the modest BCLK 150, how should i setup the ram frequency now?
    Should i set the multiplier to be close to 1333? Or i can let it 150x10 1500MHZ? The closest is 150x8 = 1200. Will i lose too much of performance if i run my RAM at 1200?

  9. #19
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    Well that only gives you 1500 or 1800.

    If you choose 1500 you may be able to run 777-24, if you use 1800 you'll probably have to start with 888-24 or 8-9-8-24, maybe even 999-24

    If you run 1200 you should be able to use 555-x or 666-x

  10. #20
    Darkling is offline Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: Ga-p55-usb3 f8 and i5-750

    I think XMP was f@@king my voltages up. Even with overclocked CPU i get lower temps now. Ok i want to start over clean, i will load optimised defaults and set the RAM manually again. There are 2 changes right? Change the configuration to quick and enter the timings and set the voltage to 1.65.

Page 2 of 17 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •