Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    20

    Default GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    I've been on F3 BIOS for about a year now with no problems at all. Finally decided to get my second set of 6GB Corsair RAM to upgrade to 12GB. Since BIOS history showed an update on RAM combatability, I decided tp upgrade to F6 which is the last non-beta version. Upgraded before installing the new ram and my system almost immediately started having blue screen issues. This was the only change I made to the system. Error was 116 which is usually a graphics driver issue as far as I can tell from what I have read. No idea what could have caused this besides the BIOS update. Sure enough I re-flashed to F3 and no more blue screens. My question then is, is there a known issue with F6? I have since installed the other 3 sticks of ram and still no issues on F3. System runs great.

    Thanks,
    Doug

    GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 F3 BIOS
    12GB Corsiar Dom GT
    EVGA GTX285
    BFG 9800GT Physics
    2X Velociraptor 300GB RAID 0
    3X WD Black 1TB Storage RAID 5
    850w PS

  2. #2
    Acebmxer's Avatar
    Acebmxer is offline Gigabyte Elite
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    2,817

    Default Re: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    As far as I remember there are no specific issues with F6 but thats not say you may have problems with F6... The latest bios for EX58-ud5 is F13q. You could say with F3 if you like or I would suggest Trying F12 or F13q as there have been alot of updates since F6 let alone F3.

    Also remember each bios is not going to act the same... Just make sure you load Optimized Defaults after flash and each bios will require different voltages in order to achieve the same overclock as before.

    as for your problem this error 116 was that a BSOD code or a windows error?

    Just remember adding 6gb more ram will require running higher qpi/vtt voltage to get stable or you may have to run lower bclk or slower ram if voltage is to high.
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC
    Haswell i7 4770k - 4.7Ghz @ 1.330v LLC Extreme (L310B492)
    G.Skill F3-1700CL9D-8GBXM DDR3-2133mhz 9-11-10-28 1.65v @ 2800mhz 12-14-14-35 1.7v
    Samsung Green 8GB 2x4GB MV-3V4G3D/US DDR3 1.3v 30nn @ 2200Mhz 11-11-11-32 1.60v
    Sapphire ATI HD 7970 3GB clocked 1200MHz @ 1.181v.
    HiS ATI HD 6950
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot Drive) on Intel sata3 controller port0
    Corsair Force GT 120 GB Sata3 SSD on Intel sata3 controller port1
    Samsung 320GB HD322GJ 7200 RPM 16M cache on Intel sata3 controller port2
    Sony Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7240S on Intel sata3 controller port5
    CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX PSU
    Swiftech MCP655-B Pump
    EK Supremacy Cpu Block
    Swiftech Mcres Micro Rev 2 Reservoir
    Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator





  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Near Toronto but not in it
    Posts
    624

    Default Re: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    Quote Originally Posted by Acebmxer View Post
    As far as I remember there are no specific issues with F6 but thats not say you may have problems with F6... The latest bios for EX58-ud5 is F13q. You could say with F3 if you like or I would suggest Trying F12 or F13q as there have been alot of updates since F6 let alone F3.

    Also remember each bios is not going to act the same... Just make sure you load Optimized Defaults after flash and each bios will require different voltages in order to achieve the same overclock as before.

    as for your problem this error 116 was that a BSOD code or a windows error?

    Just remember adding 6gb more ram will require running higher qpi/vtt voltage to get stable or you may have to run lower bclk or slower ram if voltage is to high.
    He has an X58A, the F6 bios is the most current non-beta bios available for that board.

    as for the issue, I have been running F5 since it was released and I have not had any issues. thought about going to F6 but wasn't sure if I should..

    Vin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    Quote Originally Posted by Acebmxer View Post
    As far as I remember there are no specific issues with F6 but thats not say you may have problems with F6... The latest bios for EX58-ud5 is F13q. You could say with F3 if you like or I would suggest Trying F12 or F13q as there have been alot of updates since F6 let alone F3.

    Also remember each bios is not going to act the same... Just make sure you load Optimized Defaults after flash and each bios will require different voltages in order to achieve the same overclock as before.

    as for your problem this error 116 was that a BSOD code or a windows error?

    Just remember adding 6gb more ram will require running higher qpi/vtt voltage to get stable or you may have to run lower bclk or slower ram if voltage is to high.
    Hi Ace, It's an X58A.

    The error was a BSOD error ending with 116.

    After I reflashed F3 and installed the second set of RAM I did up the qpi/vtt and ram voltages per one of Lsdmeasap old posts on that issue. Now that I'm back on F3 I no longer have any BSOD's. I'll probably just leave this version as-is as the system has been stable for the past year unless someone tells me why I really should flash to a newer version. I was just curious if there was a known issue with the F6 version.

    Thanks,
    Doug

  5. #5
    Acebmxer's Avatar
    Acebmxer is offline Gigabyte Elite
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    2,817

    Default Re: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    Sorry for my mistake about board version...
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC
    Haswell i7 4770k - 4.7Ghz @ 1.330v LLC Extreme (L310B492)
    G.Skill F3-1700CL9D-8GBXM DDR3-2133mhz 9-11-10-28 1.65v @ 2800mhz 12-14-14-35 1.7v
    Samsung Green 8GB 2x4GB MV-3V4G3D/US DDR3 1.3v 30nn @ 2200Mhz 11-11-11-32 1.60v
    Sapphire ATI HD 7970 3GB clocked 1200MHz @ 1.181v.
    HiS ATI HD 6950
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot Drive) on Intel sata3 controller port0
    Corsair Force GT 120 GB Sata3 SSD on Intel sata3 controller port1
    Samsung 320GB HD322GJ 7200 RPM 16M cache on Intel sata3 controller port2
    Sony Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7240S on Intel sata3 controller port5
    CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX PSU
    Swiftech MCP655-B Pump
    EK Supremacy Cpu Block
    Swiftech Mcres Micro Rev 2 Reservoir
    Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator





  6. #6
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    I've not seen any issues mentioned.

    Did you try tweaking your settings at all? You wont be able to use the same exact settings from F3 on the new BIOS.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    I was running F3 at all the default settings so I figured F6 should run ok at the defaults as well. I did this on Sunday before I tried any of the overclocking.

    Doug

  8. #8
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 1.0 Is there a know problem with F6 BIOS?

    Na, defaults are never good. They should only really be used so that you can get into the BIOS and set your own settings.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •