Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 76

Thread: F8M is unstable




  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    Excellent news, i can tell you i had hard time concentrating at work today, with pc not working.

    Even though im on F4 again now, sometimes wprked, then turn pc on in morning and failed,

    sometimes detected port 6 and 7
    but usually port 7 fail, and with F4 bios also,

    I even tried plugging in a standard dvd drive and port 7 never saw it, so many combinations i tried.

    hotplugging worked also, wasnt seen in bios, but os saw it,
    etc etc etc

    Glad you had issues aswell, was not happy, that you hadnt found it, now i am.

    At the moment, im actually running both ports again, 6 and 7, but drive detection has gone to port 6 slave and master, so prob why its working.

    Probably in morning will fail again.

    Gonna look for that bypass thing now, see if i can resolve it that way.

    So looks like mobo ok afterall,

    Really want a fixed bios now,

    F4 used to work, but dont now, F5p not working, ide hang etc.

    thing is i prob wore out connector on ssd, so many plugs/unplugs.

    hope it can be sorted.

    What do i set in my bios on ud9?, hdd menu/sata3 firmware selection, its on auto at the moment, what should i change it too?

    Thanks LSD, and others who are helping with this issue

    i noticed also, mines back to ide, gonna change back to ahci, hope it works again on that.
    Last edited by Pablo; 04-19-2011 at 02:54 AM.

  2. #42
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    I'll let you guys know once I hear back from Taiwan, as soon as they can test and reproduce the issue I'm sure they'll be able to correct it.

    The setting I mention that causes this for me is the Marvell Firmware Bypass mode setting, it is not in some older BIOS so you may not see it in the earlier ones, anyway when this is set to bypass mode is the only time I can reproduce the issue with Port 6

    It's not the firmware selection setting, that is to update the firmware, which you should do each time you update the BIOS by selecting force and then save/apply.

    If you need an image showing you which exact setting I mean that I was able to reproduce the issue with let me know and I can post some images.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    Thanks, Lsd.

    I reported your test results to GGTS, they said "Could you please offer us the screenshot of where to set to Firmware mode in BIOS?"
    So, would you like to post a screenshot?

  4. #44
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    Haha, GGTS should not need screenshots of BIOS settings!!

    Anyway, I will get you one in once second.

    My contact there just replied with some of the BIOS team's testing results, they have not figured it out yet, so this is just to let you know they are looking into it and trying to narrow down the cause.

    If the GSATA port 6/7 set to AHCI mode and the GSATA 6/7 RAID set to Bypass or AUTO mode in BIOS, then the system hangs at the POST HDD detection screen.

    This problem only happens if the HDD connected on the GSATA port 6, no problem on the GSATA port 7.

    X58A-UD7 + F8a/F8i/F8j/F8m/F8n BIOS ---------------- Fail
    X58A-UD7 + F7 BIOS --------------------- No issue
    X58A-UD9 + F5P BIOS ---------------- Fail
    X58A-UD5 + F7k BIOS ----------------- Fail
    X58A-UD5 + F6 BIOS ------------------ No issue
    I'll send you a pic of this setting in once second

  5. #45
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    Thanks, Lsd.

    I'm looking forward to new bios. Do you know when it will be released?

    And push them to release formal bios, not beta.
    GIGABYTE tend to release beta bios after formal bios released.
    It's hard to see formal bios since last August.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    Currently running ud9 on F4 bios with mode set to ide now, working ok.

    I think with mine, when i updated to F5p bios, then went back to F4, its not erased something from the F5 bios.

    But as im booting up ok in this state, i will wait for a fixed bios also.

    Odd that Gigabyte asked for a bios screenshot, its a bit like a car manufacturer, asking the customer how to make them.

    Anyway, its good they are looking into it.

    If they dont know around their own bioses, it doesent give me much confidence in them fixing it?
    Last edited by Pablo; 04-22-2011 at 12:25 AM.

  8. #48
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    I am not sure when they will get this fixed, they thought they had it today with F8n and force updating the Marvell Firmware, but I had already tested and failed with that so I had to let them know if they had success with it that it was random success or something else is causing the issue. Once they do correct it the BIOS will be a beta, until a final is rolled out after that.

    Ya, the GGTS helpers only go by what's shown in the manual usually, so they wouldn't know about this setting unless they actually looked in a recent BIOS because it wasn't part of the original BIOS (So not in manual)

    It was funny to hear though!

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    Yeah, prob a random succcess.

    As with all the combinations i tried, you think youve got it, then next boot, it fails again.

    But once theyve got it with the ud7 bios/ should fix it for other boards and bioses with similar or same issue.

    Happy Easter.

  10. #50
    Lsdmeasap's Avatar
    Lsdmeasap is offline GIGABYTE Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    PCB Island
    Posts
    25,940

    Default Re: F8M is unstable

    Ya, I let them know you guys had it working for a few times, then on reboot it would fail again.

    I'm sure they will get it figured out.

    For now you should just set the BIOS to Firmware mode for that setting shown above, then it will be fine.

    Happy Easter to you as well!

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •