Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: F9 Bios Lost settings




  1. #1
    kjjj11223344 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default F9 Bios Lost settings

    I recently updated to the F9 version of my BIOS, and, upon trying to apply some overclocking settings, my motherboard keeps on rebooting, saying something along the lines of, "boot failures due to overclocking, your settings have been reset." Is there any solution to this, as I was hoping the new BIOS would fix some power on issues I was having when I put my pc to sleep or hibernate. I have to say that the overclock settings did manage to stay for a while, but since I was experimenting, I had put in not enough volts for my CPU, and got a BSOD. After this BSOD, the overclocking settings didn't want to remain in the CMOS it seems. I even tried flashing back to my current BIOS, and then re-flashing to the F9 version, and upon applying overclocking settings, the computer would give me the same error.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham,Great Britain
    Posts
    9,250

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    try clearing the cmos,best way is to leave out the motherboard battery for 30mins and then load optimised defaults in the bios,then re enter your bios/oc settings
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit
    1xSamsung f4 HD204UI 2tb hard drive Storage
    Powercolor 7970 3gb V3 @1150mhz core/1700mhz mem,1.150v Accelero aftermarket air cooler 55c max
    Razer Lycosa Keyboard
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Lite-On iHAS124-19 24x Sata DVDRW
    K-World Hybrid DVB-T 210SE Digital T.V Card
    L.G E2260V L.E.D 1920x1080 Monitor
    Xfx Pro 750w silver rated Psu 80+
    Fractal Arc Midi Case

    http://i38.tinypic.com/14myvfa.jpg x58 ud5 <=3.8ghz + 4.2ghz Overclock Template!!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/warren304#p/u Visit Me On Youtube

    Lots Of Gaming Videos With X58 Ud5 System And Gpu On My Youtube Channel!!
    Just Uploaded New Battlefield 4 Video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    849

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    I agree with wazza but methinks as long as you reset the comos, boot, load optimized defaults, reboot then apply any settings/oc you'll be good to go...

  4. #4
    boondocks's Avatar
    boondocks is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Live Oak, Florida
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    From the problems I've seen, I wouldn't use the F9x beta bios. I'm sticking with F8 for now.

  5. #5
    kjjj11223344 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    Thanks for the help guys. I did set optimized defaults to see if that would help, but my overclock settings still didn't stick. It is just strange because when I rever back to my current BIOS, F5 I believe, the settings do stick after I save to CMOS and exit. The only thing I haven't tried with the F9 BIOS is removing the battery, but honestly, I think I might just install the F8 BIOS (which is supposed to fix the power on issue also), or just wait for a new BIOS to come out, as I have a big CPU cooler, which I think is a real pain to take out. If I do find the time to take it out, I'll report back whether taking out the battery worked.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    149

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    Which model of your board?

  7. #7
    profJim's Avatar
    profJim is online now Chief Munchkin + moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tacoma, WA. [USA]
    Posts
    7,811

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    Am I missing something, what brand/model number/mobo version number do you have?

    or just wait for a new BIOS to come out, as I have a big CPU cooler, which I think is a real pain to take out.
    No-one is suggesting that you need to remove your cpu cooler.
    The only thing you need to remove is the motherboard's battery as part of clearing your cmos.
    unplug your power supply from the wall outlet
    press and hold the front panel on/off switch for 15 seconds
    put a jumper block on the motherboard's CLR_CMOS pins
    wait 30 minutes, sometimes for several hours

    When you're ready to boot, reverse the above steps.
    Q9650 @ 4.10GHz [9x456MHz]
    P35-DS4 [rev: 2.0] ~ Bios: F14
    4x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1094MHz @5-5-5-15
    MSI N460GTX Hawk Talon Attack (1GB) video card <---- SLI ---->
    Seasonic SS-660XP2 80 Plus Platinum psu (660w)
    WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data)
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot)
    SLI @ 16/4 works when running HyperSLI
    Cooler Master 120XL Seidon push/pull AIO cpu water cooling
    Cooler Master HAF XB computer case (RC-902XB-KKN1)
    Asus VH242H 24" monitor [1920x1080]
    MSI N460GTX Hawk (1GB) video card
    Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium
    HT|Omega Claro plus+ sound card
    CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD UPS
    E6300 (R0) @ 3.504GHz [8x438MHz] ~~ P35-DS3L [rev: 1.0] ~ Bios: F9 ~~ 4x2GB Kingston HyperX T1 PC2-8500, 876MHz @4-4-4-10
    Seasonic X650 80+ gold psu (650w) ~~ Xigmatek Balder HDT 1283 cpu cooler ~~ Cooler Master CM 690 case (RC-690-KKN1-GP)
    Samsung 830 128GB SSD MZ-7PC128B/WW (boot) ~~ WD Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB (data) ~~ ZM-MFC2 fan controller
    HT|Omega Striker 7.1 sound card ~~ Asus VH242H monitor [1920x1080] ~~ Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers
    win7 x64 sp1 Home Premium ~~ CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD U.P.S
    .


  8. #8
    boondocks's Avatar
    boondocks is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Live Oak, Florida
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    F9d is out for GA-Z77X-UD5H, reported to be better. Haven't tried it yet.

  9. #9
    kjjj11223344 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    Quote Originally Posted by hyper530 View Post
    which model of your board?
    ga-p67a-ud3-b3.

  10. #10
    kjjj11223344 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: F9 Bios Lost settings

    Quote Originally Posted by profJim View Post
    Am I missing something, what brand/model number/mobo version number do you have?

    No-one is suggesting that you need to remove your cpu cooler.
    The only thing you need to remove is the motherboard's battery as part of clearing your cmos.
    unplug your power supply from the wall outlet
    press and hold the front panel on/off switch for 15 seconds
    put a jumper block on the motherboard's CLR_CMOS pins
    wait 30 minutes, sometimes for several hours

    When you're ready to boot, reverse the above steps.
    I also have a CM Hyper 212+ cooler, and it's just big enough that last time I needed to take out the battery, I needed to remove the whole cooler. As for your suggestion, will save me from taking out the battery? I have tried clearing the CMOS, but only shorted the switches for about 10 seconds. Will doing it longer do the trick? Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •