Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: GA-N650SLI-DS4 barely reaching POST

GEJ2012 is offline Junior Member

Question GA-N650SLI-DS4 barely reaching POST

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum. I see most of you are running much more advanced hardware than I am; but I'm glad I found it, hoping you will help me troubleshoot my issue.

I've been running a GA-N650SLI-DS4 mobo for many years, and for the past year and a half or so with an E7400 CPU (which replaced the E4500 that came with the mobo). Always worked fine (despite the E7400 not being on the supported CPU list). Also running 4 GB, 4 x 1 GB, DDR2 800 RAM, and the usual suspects of HD, DVD, and video card.

Anyway, earlier, on monday this week, my PC didn't want to start. Drive lights came on, fans came on, monitor light came on; but that was it. No Gigabyte logo, no post screen, not even the oh so familiar beep. Tried rebooting several times, warm and cold; but the screen remained black and the HD light stayed unlit. Because I didn't have much time I left it alone until that evening; but the same happened (or didn't happen, depening on how you look at it!). I unplugged it, hoping for a miracle.

It wasn't until Thursday night, yesterday, that I had enough time to spend a few hours on it. I took it apart, and cleaned it. Lots of Texas dust inside... Just for the heck of it I popped the battery out, and left it like that while I was cleaning it. Put everything back together, hooked it up to the AC cord, pushed the power button and ... BEEP! Good to go. Or so I thought...