Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4




  1. #1
    BerMM is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5

    Default Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    I've tried every combo of BIOS settings and rebooting I can think of, but havdetectiontool and Parallels Workstation 6 both report that I don't have hardware assisted virtualization. I also can't seem to get my RAM to run higher than 1866 despite upping my NBVID as suggested here GIGABYTE Tech Daily: AMD Trinity Overclocking Guide on GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4 by der8auer .

    Any ideas or suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Near Toronto but not in it
    Posts
    624

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    I can't speak to the virtualization, but what slots do you have the RAM in?

    I have 2 older AMB boards and for me to run 1866Mhz I needed to put the ram in Slots 2 and 4. if I put the ram in Slots 1 and 3 I'd get errors with the same settings... I later realized that it was noted in my manual. I failed to read it.

    Vin
    Main Rig
    OS = Win8.1
    CPU = i7-980X @ 4.17Ghz 144x29 cooled by custom Loop
    Mem = 12GB 2000Mhz corsair Dominator GT at 2010Mhz @ 9-10-9-27-2T
    MB = Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 v1.0 with F6 Bios - Dead Board
    MB = EVGA X58 Classified3 e770
    GPU = 2x Sapphire r9 290x in xfire
    HD = 2x Toshiba 120GB Raid 0 (580MB Read/140MB Write)
    Storage = 2TB WD Black
    PSU = EVGA SuperNOVA 1300w
    Case = Cooler Master HAF-X 945

    HTPC / Home Server
    OS = Win7 64Bit running XBMC HTPC Front end with Windows Server 2011 Virtual Machine with 8GB ram assigned for homer server with exchange
    CPU = AMD 1090T
    Mem = 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston RED Limited Edition running at 1600Mhz
    MB = Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5
    GPU- EVGA GT210
    HD = too many to count, but about 5TB of storage all together including backup
    PSU = Corsair TX750
    Case = Too embarrassed to mention.

  3. #3
    BerMM is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    Yeah, I see a similar note in my manual, and I just visually confirmed that my DIMMs are in the slots that the manual suggests (assuming the manual is 100% correct).

    I did find this (AMD-VwithRVI_Hyper-V_CompatibilityUtility.zip) and ran it with the following results:
    SVM and IOMMU disabled in BIOS: Correctly reported that BIOS support wasn't present or disabled.
    SVM and IOMMU enabled in BIOS: Reports that my processor doesn't support AMD-V.
    Something is clearly wrong here. What are the chances that my board or CPU could be bad in only this respect?


    Quote Originally Posted by Vinster View Post
    I can't speak to the virtualization, but what slots do you have the RAM in?

    I have 2 older AMB boards and for me to run 1866Mhz I needed to put the ram in Slots 2 and 4. if I put the ram in Slots 1 and 3 I'd get errors with the same settings... I later realized that it was noted in my manual. I failed to read it.

    Vin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Near Toronto but not in it
    Posts
    624

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    under CPU options is Virtualization disabled?

    Vin
    Main Rig
    OS = Win8.1
    CPU = i7-980X @ 4.17Ghz 144x29 cooled by custom Loop
    Mem = 12GB 2000Mhz corsair Dominator GT at 2010Mhz @ 9-10-9-27-2T
    MB = Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 v1.0 with F6 Bios - Dead Board
    MB = EVGA X58 Classified3 e770
    GPU = 2x Sapphire r9 290x in xfire
    HD = 2x Toshiba 120GB Raid 0 (580MB Read/140MB Write)
    Storage = 2TB WD Black
    PSU = EVGA SuperNOVA 1300w
    Case = Cooler Master HAF-X 945

    HTPC / Home Server
    OS = Win7 64Bit running XBMC HTPC Front end with Windows Server 2011 Virtual Machine with 8GB ram assigned for homer server with exchange
    CPU = AMD 1090T
    Mem = 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston RED Limited Edition running at 1600Mhz
    MB = Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5
    GPU- EVGA GT210
    HD = too many to count, but about 5TB of storage all together including backup
    PSU = Corsair TX750
    Case = Too embarrassed to mention.

  5. #5
    BerMM is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    In the BIOS? I only see two options: SVM and IOMMU.

    According to Wikipedia AMD-V is provided by the processor, while IOMMU is provided by the chipset. Since the one tool reports the absence of AMD-V, I'm beginning to think I should look into replacing the CPU.


    Quote Originally Posted by Vinster View Post
    under CPU options is Virtualization disabled?

    Vin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,675

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    Try enabling DEP in Windows, and or, properly edit /noexecute=AlwaysOn into the BOOT.ini file.

    What I can make of the online manual for this MB, both SVM and IOMMU should be set enabled in BIOS for virtualization. So with both these BIOS options set, try "adding' the above suggestion(s) to Windows to enable the NX bit.
    #1 - Please, when seeking help, enter the make and model of ALL parts that your system is comprised of in your Signature, or at least the model #'s in your System Specs, then "Save' it.
    ____If you are overclocking, underclocking, or undervolting any parts, informing us of this and their values would prove beneficial in helping you.

    #2 - G.Skill RAM Configurator for your boardSamsung Memory for your boardLatest AMD Chipset Drivers/WindowsLatest AMD Graphics Drivers/WindowsLatest Intel Drivers

    #3 - Please use the eXtreme Outer Vision Power Supply Calculator found HERE to determine if it might be your PSU at issue.
    ____Consider your PSU to be the foundation from which all else is built upon. Anything built upon a weak foundation is poorly built.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,675

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    Oh. Your RAM issues.

    You might peruse the ASRock section here as I seem to remember there is a thread pertaining to no higher than 1866 on A85X based boards. IIRC, ASRock stated that any higher and the on-die graphics would become unstable. Again, that's IIRC.
    #1 - Please, when seeking help, enter the make and model of ALL parts that your system is comprised of in your Signature, or at least the model #'s in your System Specs, then "Save' it.
    ____If you are overclocking, underclocking, or undervolting any parts, informing us of this and their values would prove beneficial in helping you.

    #2 - G.Skill RAM Configurator for your boardSamsung Memory for your boardLatest AMD Chipset Drivers/WindowsLatest AMD Graphics Drivers/WindowsLatest Intel Drivers

    #3 - Please use the eXtreme Outer Vision Power Supply Calculator found HERE to determine if it might be your PSU at issue.
    ____Consider your PSU to be the foundation from which all else is built upon. Anything built upon a weak foundation is poorly built.

  8. #8
    BerMM is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    Yeah, DEP is enabled in Windows. I uninstalled Parallels and then enabled SVM and IOMMU, and now both tools report that my system fully supports hardware virtualization. I'm now trying XP Mode, looks like I may need to reinstall it. With any luck this will be a Parallels issue and not hardware.

    Quote Originally Posted by - wardog - View Post
    Try enabling DEP in Windows, and or, properly edit /noexecute=AlwaysOn into the BOOT.ini file.

    What I can make of the online manual for this MB, both SVM and IOMMU should be set enabled in BIOS for virtualization. So with both these BIOS options set, try "adding' the above suggestion(s) to Windows to enable the NX bit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,675

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    Good to hear you're "getting there'.

    I should maybe clarify my comment on 1866 and the onboard/on-die graphics.

    Again, that was an ASRock statement and may not necessarily pertain to your Gigabyte board. Yet I did notice in your system specs listed you were using the onboard graphics capability so I thought it worth mentioning nonetheless.
    #1 - Please, when seeking help, enter the make and model of ALL parts that your system is comprised of in your Signature, or at least the model #'s in your System Specs, then "Save' it.
    ____If you are overclocking, underclocking, or undervolting any parts, informing us of this and their values would prove beneficial in helping you.

    #2 - G.Skill RAM Configurator for your boardSamsung Memory for your boardLatest AMD Chipset Drivers/WindowsLatest AMD Graphics Drivers/WindowsLatest Intel Drivers

    #3 - Please use the eXtreme Outer Vision Power Supply Calculator found HERE to determine if it might be your PSU at issue.
    ____Consider your PSU to be the foundation from which all else is built upon. Anything built upon a weak foundation is poorly built.

  10. #10
    BerMM is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Virtualization and RAM issues with new GA-F2A85X-UP4

    Well thanks everyone.

    It seems to have been Parallels all along, which explains why they abandoned the product. Still find it odd that software could so effectively block a hardware feature, especially without any record of the issue on google. I'll keep looking into the RAM speed issue. I did have to track down a MS hotfix for V_PC on bulldozer CPUs, but now I'm pretty happy with everything but Parallels.

    Any suggestions on a free VM to replace Parallels? My primary use will be to view a large catalog of old video (not that kind; recordings from previous DVR PCs) with various codecs on a XP client.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by BerMM; 04-02-2013 at 09:22 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •