Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx




  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Around Here
    Posts
    18

    Default Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    So, I have had this board for more than a month now and i keep having trouble with BSOD.

    So far:

    1. I ve run memtest on all sticks together as well as individually, found no problems.

    2. Set DRAm voltage, speed and CAS timings manually instead through the UEFI.

    3. Just installed F6q, got a BSOD within the next half hour.

    I was told in the G.SKill forum to manually set VCSA which my understanding is system agent voltage.

    What kind of settings can I try?

    The board's page says that F6 version is available but all links are broken.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Birmingham,Great Britain
    Posts
    9,250

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    im not 100% sure on haswell

    but max safe on ivy was from stock 1.05v to 1.2v

    you could try around 1.10v-1.15v and see if it helps also enable x.m.p memory profile if that ram supports it,you'll find it in the bios
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit
    1xSamsung f4 HD204UI 2tb hard drive Storage
    Powercolor 7970 3gb V3 @1150mhz core/1700mhz mem,1.150v Accelero aftermarket air cooler 55c max
    Razer Lycosa Keyboard
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Lite-On iHAS124-19 24x Sata DVDRW
    K-World Hybrid DVB-T 210SE Digital T.V Card
    L.G E2260V L.E.D 1920x1080 Monitor
    Xfx Pro 750w silver rated Psu 80+
    Fractal Arc Midi Case

    http://i38.tinypic.com/14myvfa.jpg x58 ud5 <=3.8ghz + 4.2ghz Overclock Template!!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/warren304#p/u Visit Me On Youtube

    Lots Of Gaming Videos With X58 Ud5 System And Gpu On My Youtube Channel!!
    Just Uploaded New Battlefield 4 Video!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Acebmxer's Avatar
    Acebmxer is offline Gigabyte Elite
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    2,817

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    Gigabyte uses offset voltage for system agent on haswell. Default is 0.820v max is 1.25v on air/water. So 1.25v-0.820= 0.430v is max offset to use. this was done with dmm not much vrdrop, vdroop, or vrise fairly close.

    First with haswell since it can run High memory speeds easily and voltages are very touchy its hard to say what will work. My samsung 1600 ram max out around 2200mhz - 2300mhz and needed around 0.250v where as my gskill 2133 ram will do 2800mhz at 0.120v. they are only 8gb kits

    Before fore you try and get 32gb ram kit to run 2400mhz I would first set ram to 1600mhz and sys agent to auto and make sure cpu is fully stable. What cpu/uncore speed are you trying to run? Please give full details of your bios config including voltages.

    Some times over volting will harm stability. For instance my cpu does not like 1.95v vRin (vccin) at 4.7ghz 1.330v but is perfectly stable at 1.800v-1.850v vRin(vccin).

    Once you no cpu is fully stable with 32gb ram at 1600mhz then try manually setting sys agent and testing to see what you need for 1600mhz at default timings for 2400mhz. Then once you found that increase ram speed upto 2133 and test and adjust sys agent as needed then try 2200 then 2400. I would try in 0.010v or 0.020v increments.
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC
    Haswell i7 4770k - 4.7Ghz @ 1.330v LLC Extreme (L310B492)
    G.Skill F3-1700CL9D-8GBXM DDR3-2133mhz 9-11-10-28 1.65v @ 2800mhz 12-14-14-35 1.7v
    Samsung Green 8GB 2x4GB MV-3V4G3D/US DDR3 1.3v 30nn @ 2200Mhz 11-11-11-32 1.60v
    Sapphire ATI HD 7970 3GB clocked 1200MHz @ 1.181v.
    HiS ATI HD 6950
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot Drive) on Intel sata3 controller port0
    Corsair Force GT 120 GB Sata3 SSD on Intel sata3 controller port1
    Samsung 320GB HD322GJ 7200 RPM 16M cache on Intel sata3 controller port2
    Sony Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7240S on Intel sata3 controller port5
    CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX PSU
    Swiftech MCP655-B Pump
    EK Supremacy Cpu Block
    Swiftech Mcres Micro Rev 2 Reservoir
    Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator





  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Around Here
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    Thanks for your answers. I am afraid I am a newb in the overclocking thing - and even though I want to take a gander at it- that's not my priority. My priority is running memory according to spec -which is 2400mhz- so I haven't yet touched default settings for the CPU.

    Initially, I simply changed the XMP profile, but I faced instability. Then I read that it's preferable to alter settings manually rather than with XMP, so that's what i was doing ever since.

    Right now, my processor runs unacceptably hot when testing with prime95, so it's not possible to test for stability that way. The trick I ve found - which is actually near real use conditions- is to turn virtualbox on and have a couple of videos playing in a continuous loop on both host and client. When I do that, I get a BSOD anywhere from 15 minutes (like I did when I flashed f6q) and 3 hours when I was using f5.

    So, what settings should I try changing?

  5. #5
    sherpa25 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    Could it be possibly related to what others are also encountering with bsod's when using 4 sticks at the same time? I've learned of some not encountering this though using Kingston rams, so it appears that even if a set is in the QVL, it may still cause the problem.

  6. #6
    Acebmxer's Avatar
    Acebmxer is offline Gigabyte Elite
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    2,817

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    Its all a voltage game. Some CPUs have a better memory controller then others and can run 32gb ram easier then others and or at higher speeds. They may still be adjusting voltages but not letting that info out.
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC
    Haswell i7 4770k - 4.7Ghz @ 1.330v LLC Extreme (L310B492)
    G.Skill F3-1700CL9D-8GBXM DDR3-2133mhz 9-11-10-28 1.65v @ 2800mhz 12-14-14-35 1.7v
    Samsung Green 8GB 2x4GB MV-3V4G3D/US DDR3 1.3v 30nn @ 2200Mhz 11-11-11-32 1.60v
    Sapphire ATI HD 7970 3GB clocked 1200MHz @ 1.181v.
    HiS ATI HD 6950
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot Drive) on Intel sata3 controller port0
    Corsair Force GT 120 GB Sata3 SSD on Intel sata3 controller port1
    Samsung 320GB HD322GJ 7200 RPM 16M cache on Intel sata3 controller port2
    Sony Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7240S on Intel sata3 controller port5
    CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX PSU
    Swiftech MCP655-B Pump
    EK Supremacy Cpu Block
    Swiftech Mcres Micro Rev 2 Reservoir
    Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator





  7. #7
    sherpa25 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    Quote Originally Posted by Acebmxer View Post
    Its all a voltage game. Some CPUs have a better memory controller then others and can run 32gb ram easier then others and or at higher speeds. They may still be adjusting voltages but not letting that info out.
    Not to hijack the thread but more for continuity.... do you recommend the higher i7 cpu's if planning to run 32Gb? So for stability, is it feasible to just set XMP for stock settings, and I presume all boards have that? Thanks.

  8. #8
    Acebmxer's Avatar
    Acebmxer is offline Gigabyte Elite
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    2,817

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    With Haswell each cpu is so far from each other and they are so sensitive to voltages that setting XMP and leaving all settings on auto may not work. It make work for some cpus but all cpus.

    From what I have seen the I7's do tend to clock better then the I5's but it still a hit or miss. You can one cpu that will do 4.5ghz at 1.2v while another one from the same batch will need 1.3v for 4.5ghz. While the cpu that can do 4.5ghz at 1.2v may only be able to run 16gb of ram at 2400 while the one that needs 1.3v at 4.5gh could do 32gb at 2400. One cpu may be able to do it with lower volts some might need more voltage.

    Just remember the memory controller is still only rated for 1600mhz so trying to get 32gb 4 sticks to run at 2400 is asking quite a bit. Thats alot of stress on the IMC.
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC
    Haswell i7 4770k - 4.7Ghz @ 1.330v LLC Extreme (L310B492)
    G.Skill F3-1700CL9D-8GBXM DDR3-2133mhz 9-11-10-28 1.65v @ 2800mhz 12-14-14-35 1.7v
    Samsung Green 8GB 2x4GB MV-3V4G3D/US DDR3 1.3v 30nn @ 2200Mhz 11-11-11-32 1.60v
    Sapphire ATI HD 7970 3GB clocked 1200MHz @ 1.181v.
    HiS ATI HD 6950
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot Drive) on Intel sata3 controller port0
    Corsair Force GT 120 GB Sata3 SSD on Intel sata3 controller port1
    Samsung 320GB HD322GJ 7200 RPM 16M cache on Intel sata3 controller port2
    Sony Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7240S on Intel sata3 controller port5
    CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX PSU
    Swiftech MCP655-B Pump
    EK Supremacy Cpu Block
    Swiftech Mcres Micro Rev 2 Reservoir
    Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator





  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Around Here
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    I am happy to report that after setting cpu agent voltage to 0.05 and loosening up cas timings to 10-13-13-32, I ve managed to go 10 hours plus without a BSOD, which is the most I ve managed to do.

    I am still not certain I reached stability, but I guess these are the settings I can toy with.

    Now, I should try prime95 for 24 hours or so? On blended mode?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Around Here
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Ga-z87x-ud3h & 32gb f3-2400c10q-32gtx

    I am afraid a couple of hours after I wrote my post, I had my system freeze up again. Not BSOD, but the mouse wouldn't move and the screen went black after a while so I had to press the reset button. Afterwards, I increased system agent voltage to 0.010, I got a BSOD a couple of hours after that.

    I also think I gave acebmxer's initial post short thrift when I first read it:
    Gigabyte uses offset voltage for system agent on haswell. Default is 0.820v max is 1.25v on air/water. So 1.25v-0.820= 0.430v is max offset to use. this was done with dmm not much vrdrop, vdroop, or vrise fairly close.

    First with haswell since it can run High memory speeds easily and voltages are very touchy its hard to say what will work. My samsung 1600 ram max out around 2200mhz - 2300mhz and needed around 0.250v where as my gskill 2133 ram will do 2800mhz at 0.120v. they are only 8gb kits

    Before fore you try and get 32gb ram kit to run 2400mhz I would first set ram to 1600mhz and sys agent to auto and make sure cpu is fully stable. What cpu/uncore speed are you trying to run? Please give full details of your bios config including voltages.

    Some times over volting will harm stability. For instance my cpu does not like 1.95v vRin (vccin) at 4.7ghz 1.330v but is perfectly stable at 1.800v-1.850v vRin(vccin).

    Once you no cpu is fully stable with 32gb ram at 1600mhz then try manually setting sys agent and testing to see what you need for 1600mhz at default timings for 2400mhz. Then once you found that increase ram speed upto 2133 and test and adjust sys agent as needed then try 2200 then 2400. I would try in 0.010v or 0.020v increments.
    I keep reading it again and again so I can try to digest it. It's very useful, thank you. I am confused by the last part though.

    You re telling me in effect that I should loosen my 1600mhz timings to those I am going to use for at 2400 mhz and once I get it stable at that frequency to increase it until I reach 2400 mhz. This means that CAS timings are affected by system agent voltage, correct?

    Why shouldn't I do the opposite though? Why don't I start with loose timings at 2400 mhz, find a level where the system is stable then find the timings where instability is introduced and then start toying with system agent voltage? Does this make sense or am I way off here?

    Again thanks, and sorry if I am being redundant some times, I am new to this thing and it's a process until I grapple with it.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •