Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Help needed mounting hdd

I'm in DamnSmallLinux right now, which is a distro in which you boot from CD, based off Knoppix. I'm pretty new to Linux, I used RedHat 9 a few months ago until I reformatted and never bothered reinstalling. My problem is, I have no idea how to access or even mount my drives. I have my hard drive set up as follows:
    Partiton 1: FAT32 about 20 GB (with 98SE on it)
    Partition 2: NTFS about 6 GB (with XP Pro on it)
    Partition 3: FAT32 about 30 GB (with shared files and apps on it, no OS)
    Unpartitioned: A bit over 20GB
    All on a Maxtor 80 GB hdd.
    How do I mount these (well not the NTFS, this distro probably made pre-NTFS), if possible?
    If I can't (distro doesn't support FAT32 for some reason), how do I format the remaining free space int o ext2 or something? Also, how do I mount and format floppies?

I did a little searching and found commands but am encountering error messages(e.g. "mount: can't find hda in etc/fstab or etc/mtab" , probably to due to the fact that everything is on CD.

Can anyone help or give a link with good instructions?

The general form is :
    mount -t filesystem /device /mountpoint

so to mount your first partition you should do:
    mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mountpoint
    check out the mount man pages for more information :cheers:

Thanks. New problem now, I need to do it as root. I don't know the root password though. This distro (as I said) is an altered knoppix, is there some sort of preconfigured root password?