Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Here's one for you Bern

I know this is a stupid question since I have used Linux for years now but here it goes. I recently downloaded the final release of KDE3.0 and compiled and installed with no errors, but now when I load X all my programs are gone and I am crashing everytime I try and run Konquerer. Bern what can I do to link all my programs back. I see that they are there but KDE is telling me that they are missing.

As a total newb to linux..I was reading the info on KDE.org about installing KDE3.0.....it had a whole section on just your problem and what to do....it seems pretty simple (famous last words)....you might actually have to use the LAST resort....read the doco
    The older I get...the better I was

KDE 3 breaks binary compatability with KDE 2x, I'm going to wait untill the all apps I use have been ported to v3 or for slack 8.1 which should have kde3 as default. I've been having a look at kde 3 for the last couple of days but have now reverted back to kde2, thats why I've been away from the forums for a few days, Its a big job swapping around kde and qt installs.

yeah i know, I am on KDE2 again now also.

I tried EXPORT KDEDIR=/opt/kde2
    EXPORT PATH=$KDEDIR bin:$PATH

to get my apps over to KDE3 but it hosed kde2 and kde3

guess we will have to wait.

Originally posted by ne0z
    [B]yeah i know, I am on KDE2 again now also.

I tried EXPORT KDEDIR=/opt/kde2
    EXPORT PATH=$KDEDIR bin:$PATH

to get my apps over to KDE3 but it hosed kde2 and kde3

guess we will have to wait.